We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant that could be very good, but our visit was not.”
Review of Catch

Catch
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 698 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine" we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our "Fire Cracker" Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had an 8:30 reservation after this find dining restaurant was recommended to us from other servers and chefs in Wilmington. We were looking for interesting seafood and cutting edge dishes. We were disappointed to find that at least half the dishes were not available. Service was disappointing as well in that we ordered wine, and it took the server 30 minutes to return and tell us they did not have the wine in stock any more and came back and tried to present a wine of half the quality as a substitute. We ordered a different and acceptable wine from a reasonable wine list. The calamari appetizer was very good, and the lobster sliders were decent. As we found no entrees to our liking still available we did not order more than appetizers. We commented to the maître d about our disappointment with the evening and later received a call from the manager apologizing. We did appreciate the follow up and offer to make it up to us. Unfortunately it is unlikely we will be back in Wilmington in the foreseeable future. Still, if we were, we would give this restaurant another chance as it was very busy, and appears to have great potential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank UpstateExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanx4dining, Manager at Catch, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank You for your feedback. Our menu is very much a seasonal selection and is limited to mother nature. In the Heart of the Winter, on the Coast of NC, were are very limited to and the amounts of our daily fresh fish availability. Our Wine availability can change due to vintage supplies. We strive hard for customer satisfaction.We value our customer comments and due an excellent job rectifying any irregularaties.We are a community supported restaurant, and customer satisfaction is #1.If our staff or manager are notified of any issues with they're promptly addressed.We regret we did not have the opportunity to do so in this case.We have had excellent reviews and value all comments.While visiting the coast , we encourage you to give us a try.Thank You, to all of our valued Trip Advisor guest .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 533 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We decided to go out for fresh fish last week and were absolutely delighted. Fabulous food, 100% attentive service, atmosphere of fun fun fun. I can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarkGaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

EXCELLENT! Get the blackened Mahi, Lobster, Shrimp n grits, Crab Cakes...Heck, everything is the best I have ever had from this guy! And dont forget some fresh calamari and Sweet Potato Salad for a starter! MmmmmmmmHmmmm!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went here with family on Christmas Eve. 2 adults, 2 teenagers due to all the hype I have been reading about in reviews and magazines. We all had high expectations to say the least. This place is in a non-descript strip mall which does not bode well with prices on the menu. The bar area was nice looking, but not intimate or cozy. Did not make me want to sit and stay a-while. We were promptly seated in the dining room since we had made reservations via Open Table on-line, which worked out well. The dining room is nice, sort of modern and minimalistic with walls that are adorned by large photographs of a local photographic artist. No table cloths here. The food was imaginative but extremely over priced - supposedly all organic produce is used here. I had Grouper over mashed potatoes and organic Kale $32 a la cart. Husband and son had the Crab Sliders for appetizer and they enjoyed it. Grilled Salmon with an Asian flair was enjoyed by my 13 year old. Everyone should try it once, but bring a fat wallet and leave teenage kids at home for this one. Not sure if they can appreciate it for the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OpinionsGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanx4dining, Manager at Catch, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank You for your feedback.We strive hard for customer satisfaction.We value our customer comments and due an excellent job rectifying any irregularaties.We are a community supported restaurant, and customer satisfaction is #1.If our staff or manager are notified of any issues with they're promptly addressed.We regret we did not have the opportunity to do so in this case.We have had excellent reviews and value all comments.While visiting the coast , we encourage you to give us a try.Don't forget to say hello,and leave us review.Thank You, to all of our valued Trip Advisor guest .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Carol and I continued our Christmas eve tradition by having dinner at Catch prior to the Christmas Eve service at our church - Church of the Servant.

This restaurant consistently delivers high quality food and excellent customer service. It is a joy and treat to have a meal at Catch. Last night, we noticed, despite have a full house, we could actually carry on a conversation without shouting. There is no loud music playing and Catch utilizes dividers and sound board on the walls to dampen the noise factor. Thank you Catch!!!!

Jennifer was our server, for the 2nd time, and she did a tremendous job. She was patient with us so we made up our minds. She suggested a carafe of wine instead of a full 2nd glass which we balked at. Thank you Jennifer for making our evening so memorable.

Our meals were excellent, from the fried oysters to the blackened tuna and fresh de-caf coffee to finish the meal.

Despite being busy, Angela provided just the right amount of attention to keep us satisfied.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing