We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Menu ~ Excellent Food!”
Review of Catch

Catch
Reserve with OpenTable
Catch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 677 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine" we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our "Fire Cracker" Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.
richmond va
1 review
“Unique Menu ~ Excellent Food!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent service & food. Atmosphere is not great, although it is in a strip mall. Only negative was the bread and wait for it. Bread arrived burnt (only four little pieces) and the portion was small. Food was great. We went for restaurant week but felt the menu offered better dishes/prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank copelati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    82
    48
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not Worth IT”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went to this restaurant during Encore Restaurant Week and booked with Open table service requesting the best seat in the house to celebrate a special occasion. It was our first experience. We got a table by the drafty door over-looking a parking lot. Several better 2-person tables were available but the rude hostess said that she can't seat us there because they needed them in case of a large party! No large party every came and the two tables were still empty when we left. Waited 10 min.for the bread, the soup was slightly warm and ok to taste, the main course (small lobster tail) was served in a "cold" bowl and lukewarm with little taste. We waited over 20 minutes for dessert. My crembrulee was maybe a 1/4 cup size! Then to add more pain to our experience, they added a 20% gratuity on to our bill for 2 people! The waiters/waitresses were courteous but did not clear the dishes timely or make one feel special on our occassion. Our celebration was a big dud. SS

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanx4dining, Manager at Catch, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are a unique casual dining restaurant in a relaxed atmosphere minute from the beach.We understand not everyone will have the same experience.We strive hard for customer satisfaction.We value our customer comments and due an excellent job rectifying any
irregularaties.We are a community supported restaurant, and customer satisfaction is #1.If our staff or manager are notified of any issues with they're promptly addressed .Our customer base is local and love to give back by participating in a discounted menu offering during restaurant week. This menu is usually comprised of customers request. Though restaurant week is a great way to give back, we will not be participating in future restaurant week events. Instead we will be offering a permanent prix fixe menu.The majority of our guest enjoy the restaurant week experience and appreciate the value.We regret we did not have the opportunity to do so in this case.Our staff is knowledgable and compitent.We have had excellent reviews and value all customer comments,even this guest We never deliver food or drinks that are not requested unless given complimentary by management.While visiting the coast, we encourage you to give us a try.Don't forget to say hello,and leave us review.Thank You, to all of our valued Trip Advisor guest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor performance during restaurant week!!!!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This was not our first time at Catch. But will definitely NOT return.
First night of restaurant week this establishment has FAILED in all ways.
1. Food was slightly above room temperature.
2. Portions were small.
3. Brussel sprouts are supposed to be roasted. That does not mean having black ash on them. They were what most Americans call burnt.
4. Our table wobbled. (Hey management - small things ARE important to your guests.)
5. Waitress was slow, never brought the bread (another waitress actually noticed we were "out" of bread and brought some, asked for butter and never got it)
6. 20% added. We had a party of four. I am usually a 20% tipper at fine dinning when you get treated well. Honestly I've had better service at Stake N Shake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Subcsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanx4dining, Manager at Catch, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are a unique casual dining restaurant in a relaxed atmosphere minute from the beach.We understand not everyone will have the same experience.We strive hard for customer satisfaction.We value our customer comments and due an excellent job rectifying any
irregularaties.We are a community supported restaurant, and customer satisfaction is #1.If our staff or manager are notified of any issues with they're promptly addressed .Our customer base is local and love to give back by participating in a discounted menu offering during restaurant week. This menu is usually comprised of customers request. Though restaurant week is a great way to give back, we will not be participating in future restaurant week events. Instead we will be offering a permanent prix fixe menu.The majority of our guest enjoy the restaurant week experience and appreciate the value.We regret we did not have the opportunity to do so in this case.Our staff is knowledgable and compitent.We have had excellent reviews and value all customer comments,even this guest We never deliver food or drinks that are not requested unless given complimentary by management.While visiting the coast, we encourage you to give us a try.Don't forget to say hello,and leave us review.Thank You, to all of our valued Trip Advisor guest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Very disappointed"”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

After just living in the area for several months, my husband and I were glad to see restaurant week. We chose to try Catch, based on good reviews we have read and the menu for the three course $30.00 per person meal.
I had the famous angry lobster, my husband had the duck, don't get me wrong bOth we good , very small portions, and very slow service. I can't blame the waitress only the kitchen.We waited twenty minutes for desert and my creme brûlée was ice cold and in a two inch by two inch plate? feel that with restaurant week they should have plenty of help. Two women next to us waited so long only to be served their meal, without having recieved the appetizer first.
we ran into neighbors who were also disappointed with their seafood platters.we will try other restaurants to find out which ones we will go back to, not this one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rangerswife02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanx4dining, Manager at Catch, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are a unique casual dining restaurant in a relaxed atmosphere minute from the beach.We understand not everyone will have the same experience.We strive hard for customer satisfaction.We value our customer comments and due an excellent job rectifying any
irregularaties.We are a community supported restaurant, and customer satisfaction is #1.If our staff or manager are notified of any issues with they're promptly addressed .Our customer base is local and love to give back by participating in a discounted menu offering during restaurant week. This menu is usually comprised of customers request. Though restaurant week is a great way to give back, we will not be participating in future restaurant week events. Instead we will be offering a permanent prix fixe menu.The majority of our guest enjoy the restaurant week experience and appreciate the value.We regret we did not have the opportunity to do so in this case.Our staff is knowledgable and compitent.We have had excellent reviews and value all customer comments,even this guest We never deliver food or drinks that are not requested unless given complimentary by management.While visiting the coast, we encourage you to give us a try.Don't forget to say hello,and leave us review.Thank You, to all of our valued Trip Advisor guest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“happy anniversary!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

had a great anniversary dinner with my husband!! shrimp and grits and oysters on the half shell!!!! everything was terrific.....thanks catch!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing