We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise.”

Cape Fear Seafood Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Cape Fear Seafood Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 678 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cape Fear Seafood Company is a locally owned & operated restaurant specializing in regional American seafood, signature dishes, hand cut fish, steaks, and chicken along with freshly made desserts all served in a comfortable relaxed atmosphere.
New York
Level Contributor
205 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A great surprise.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Visited this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews. I am not usually gung ho on strip mall located restaurants but this one is decorated very nicely once you are inside. The decor is suited to seafood offerings. Hubby had grilled shrimp tacos which were served with a black bean salad. The tacos were loaded with plenty of freshly grilled and flavorful shrimp along with a mango relish. Very satisfying, fresh, light and healthy. Fried flounder basket was also very fresh and plentiful. Service was attentive and efficient. Will definitely go back. Highly recommend. Check it out when you're I the area. They are right behind Ruby Tuesdays and a little tricky to find. Once you're there you won't regret it.

Helpful?
1 Thank OpinionsGalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    163
    39
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

CFSC is a wonderful, locally owned seafood restaurant located in an unexpected location. Not on the beach, but in a small strip of shops in the Monkey Junction area. You will have the best shrimp and grits in town! Other favories are scallops, crab cakes and their crab scampi appitizer served over fried risotto cakes is a must! Everything is made to order and fresh! Their daily soups are always great as well as their regular soup, roasted red pepper crab bisque. The wait staff is fantastic. Friendly, knowledgable and very accomadating. This is one of our favorite dining experiences in Wilmington~we've never been disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AutumnLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An anniversary to remember”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I were debating where to go to eat our 20th anniversary dinner since we have so many choices from which to choose along the NC/SC coast. We finally decided on Cape Fear Seafood Company since they have the best crab cakes she has eaten in this area. Once we arrived Eddie the manager greeted us and treated us like VIP's. Since it was early afternoon, the usual dinner amenities were not available, but Eddie made an exception for us. They cooked some fresh ciabatta bread for us and brought it with our salads. The salad was freshly made and was a perfect starter for our meal. My wife ordered the crab cakes with roasted potatoes and asparagus. I had pan seared grouper topped with a mango sauce along with roasted potatoes and green beans mixed with tomatoes. Both meals were expertly prepared and were delightful to eat. We've eaten at more expensive 5 star restaurants and have not enjoyed our experience more than we did at Cape Fear Seafood Company. This is a jewel in the making in the Wilmington area that everyone should experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adw49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great food. Higher priced restaurant in a strip mall location. Ambience not as expected, but once you get the food, you experience some great seafood! Kudos went to the Chef!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank OnTheEdge59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Grouper in a strip mall”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Don't be fooled by the strip mall exterior! We were told about this hard to notice restaurant by a local. Our pan seared grouper with mango salsa was terrific. The fish was cooked perfectly and the delicate sauce enhanced the fish, not over powering it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Fear Seafood Company also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cape Fear Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing