We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Seafood In Wilmington”

Cape Fear Seafood Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Cape Fear Seafood Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 677 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Cape Fear Seafood Company is a locally owned & operated restaurant specializing in regional American seafood, signature dishes, hand cut fish, steaks, and chicken along with freshly made desserts all served in a comfortable relaxed atmosphere.
Dover, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood In Wilmington”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Appearances can be deceiving. My wife and I recently went on a one day trip to Wilmington to have some alone time without any kids. After reading the reviews for CFSC, we decided to give it a try. The place is a little difficult to find, tucked away in a strip mall behind Ruby Tuesday's. When we finally did find it, I was gld we called ahead for reservations, because they were packed, with people waiting outside for a table. We went in, and were seated at a very small table which was barely big enough to hold the food and drinks we would soon order. We noticed some empty booths along one wall, and asked to be moved to one of them, but were informed that those booths were reserved for other guests. For an appetizer, I ordered the Red Pepper & Crab Bisque, and followed it up with the Cape Fear Shrimp & Grits. My wife had the Calabash Seafood platter. Thr Red Pepper & Crab Bisque is hands down the BEST thing I have ever eaten! Served hot, excellent flavor, and every bite was full of crab meat. The Cape Fear Shrimp & Grits were also among the best i've ever tasted. I tried a few fried shrimp from my wife's Calabash platter, and was pleasantly surprised. In opposition to the average seafood restaurant platter, they were very lightly breaded and cooked perfectly. The portions were easily more than the average person could finish, and we3 took quite a bit of food back to the hotel with us. The staff was very friendly, but not overwhelming, which was a plus for us. The restaurant is a bit small, and can therefore get quite noisy on a busy night, but the quality of food makes it worthwhile to endure the noise. The mixed drinks were a bit pricey, but contained more liquor than your standard restaurant drink. They also have a good selection of drinks to choose from, from beer to martinis to cocktails. We felt the food prices were very reasonable. Our entire meal consisted of a bowl of Red Pepper & Crab Bisque, Calabash Seafood Platter, Cape Fear Shrimp & Grits, 2 Bud Lights, and an Apple Martini, and our bill was $56.00. Had it nott been for the size of the dining room and the noise level, this restaurant would have easily been deserving of five stars. If you are passing through Wilmington, it is definitely worth skipping the ridiculously overpriced waterfront restaurants and taking a ride over to Monkey Junction to the Cape Fea Seafood Company.
PROS:
The best seafood in Wilmington
Reasonable prices


CONS:
Atmosphere is a bit cramped and noisy

TIP:
Call ahead of time and reserve a booth if dining with someone else

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    163
    39
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood prepared well!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Not what you would expect in strip mall in Monkey Junction...but its a great restaurant with a nice atmosphere, excellent service and great seafood.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keystonekmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unassuming Facade with a Pleasant Surprise Inside”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Pity the fool who travels to the coast and doesn't partake in as much seafood as possible. Wilmington, North Carolina certainly delivers a bounty of seafood options. Plenty of outdoor seating can be found along the Cape Fear Riverwalk which affords a view of the USS North Carolina Battleship across the river, but on a cold and drizzly night, you could opt to dine at the Cape Fear Seafood Company.

The strip mall location of Cape Fear Seafood Company may be hard to find, but its unassuming facade hides a pleasant surprise. The atmosphere borders on quaint cafe style with requisite seafood decor. The service is friendly although our served mixed up the pinot noir and malbec wine we ordered nor did she give a detailed rundown of that day's specials and we had to inquire about them. Prices are reasonable, and some great meal deals run throughout the week.

The menu at Cape Fear Seafood Company does feature some Southern dishes, such as the fried okra appetizer and the shrimp and grits dinner. Many reviews rave about the Bloody Mary Oyster appetizer. We started with two generous cups of clam chowder that was served with sourdough bread. The chowder was decent, but it would be nice to see more pieces of clam and larger chunks of potato.

The creamy lemon caper sauce of the grouper piccata hit the spot, but as usual a lighter touch of salt would have made it even better. Fewer capers would have toned down the flavor a bit as well, but the balance of sautéed mushrooms was just right. The angel hair pasta that came with it was cooked just right without any of the thin noodles sticking together.

The fish and chips consisted of two large cod patties. It would be helpful if the menu pointed that fact out. Many people prefer fish and chips where the pieces are served up small enough to become finger food. When in doubt, it's best to try to remember to ask the server if fish and chips are your thing. The batter on the cod could have been a little less thick. The fries were crispy and the coleslaw excellent despite its monochrome look.

Both entrees were huge which left no room for desert. Either would have been good to split between two people, especially considering the size of the cups of chowder.

JeriWB.com Teacher Writer Traveler
Let's learn together.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious fried shrimp!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Quaint restaurant located in the Blockbuster shopping mall. Affordable seafood prices. Delicious fried shrimp! I do not care for their slaw so I order their yummy hushpuppies instead. I do not like their key lime pie either...not at all like key lime pie I am use to!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brunettesweetness82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Where's the Fish??”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This has been one of our favorite seafood restaurants in Wilmington and we have had many outstanding meals here in the past. We ordered the fish tacos for our most recent dinner and we were sorely disappointed. The tortillas were hard and chewey (stale) and the cod was good but there were only 2 very small pieces in each toco. The fish flavor was overwhelmed by the cabbage and mango in the taco. The corn salad that came with the dish was also disappointing, very little corn and beans and a lot of lettuce. I am hoping this was just an off night for them and not an indication of them trying to cut corners? Only time will tell, we will wait awhile before we go back and see if they have improved.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wilmy1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Fear Seafood Company also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cape Fear Seafood Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing