We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a good bar atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Penny

Copper Penny
Ranked #9 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food in a good bar atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Food is always good, service is excellent. Downside is that it can get loud and is usually crowded but there is a reason for it. I have been hereat least twenty times and have never been disappointed

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yankeeinwilmingtonnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    235
    43
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best sweet potato fries!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We've eaten at the Copper Penny a few times recently, but last night, I had the best, hands down, sweet potato fries with my burger! They were so crunchy and had just the right amount of salt on them. If you love sweet potato fries, you must try the Copper Penny!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonpie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Copper Penny has interesting atmosphere, typical old-time ‘Pub-Style’. I am sure a lively place at happy hour, but not so much fun for family at Sunday brunch. This particular Sunday, the popular Copper Penny was packed with locals and out of town folks alike. Therein lies the problem, the wait staff was disorganized from order taking - wait from seating to order 15 minutes; wait from order to food delivery - 25 minutes. Appetizers and salad/soup delivered with main course. The food, by-and-large ‘OK’, not great – typical pub-style fare. We would not recommend Copper Penny for any family outing; yet might be worth a relook at happy hour – again, not for lunch or Sunday brunch outing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boopstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a good choice for lunch for the 4 of us (3 adults & 1 young child). We all picked out some of the vegetarian /meatless sandwiches. I had the adult grilled cheese with pesto and the sweet potato fries - Delicious. The other 2 had the black bean burger and the portobello mushroom sandwich. They liked theirs as much I liked mine. Service was excellent too. I'd definitely go back here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Once Was Not Enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We visited twice during our 5 day stay in Wilmington and would have returned for another if we had time. This South Jersey traveler felt right-at-home surrounded by all the Philadelphia sports team memorabilia. The owner's wife is from the Philly area and her husband is apparently a huge Eagles fan. Atmosphere is warm & inviting to all and the food & drink are way above average. You MUST try the chili. OUTSTANDING!!! My wife & I sampled the chicken quesadilla, Ruben, 109 Chestnut Street chicken sandwich & Philly cheese steak: perfect pub grub except for the green peppers on the steak.
The place is jamming around dinner time so plan accordingly. Great selection of beers (both domestic, imported & micro domestic (of NC origin). Decent daily specials & highly descriptive/relevant website. Just 3 block from Riverwalk. You must visit at least ONCE.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CPPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Penny also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Copper Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing