We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food fun atmosphere”
Review of Copper Penny

Copper Penny
Ranked #11 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food fun atmosphere”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Great chicken tenders hand made and love their homemade chips! Always had great and quick service. Would recommend to anyone!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmp31563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    262
    48
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best bar food downtown!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been a longtime fan of Copper Penny. They offer a great selection of craft beers for beer lovers and novices alike. They also have amazing bar food at affordable prices. I highly recommend their wings and philly cheesesteak egg rolls! They also have sandwiches, salads, and other entree selections that are very tasty. I have never had anything there that I have not enjoyed. They serve food until about 11 pm. I only wish they would extend this food serving time until 1 AM. The bar/restaurant does get very noisy though.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I took my wife and grown daughter to the Copper Penny for lunch Sunday, December 16th. It was after church. The place was packed and noisy with all the TV's having different games. But the atmosphere was expected and typical. I got the hot roast beef with grilled onions and peppers and home made chips. My daughter and wife shared a Greek burger. We all shared the bread pudding for dessert. All were very good and very satisfying. I highly recommend the Copper Penny for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“excellent bar food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Copper Penny probably has the best bar food in Wilmington. It's a fun spot for lunch or a late night snack with drinks.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashpav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Best Bar Food In town”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place serves the best bar food in town. You will see 21-85 year olds in here enjoying the grub. The cheese steak and southwestern spring rolls are exceptional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bigfisn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Penny also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Copper Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing