We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Pub Food!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Penny

Copper Penny
Ranked #9 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Montana
Level Contributor
296 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Awesome Pub Food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I eat at Copper Penny at least 2 times a week. The service is always good, food is excellent, price is just about right. Ate there yesterday as was glad to see the Mayor stop by for some lunch. Only drawback to this place is if you stumble in during fall months, on a Sunday, and the Eagles are playing, you'll have to endure crazy Philly fans!!! lol Seriously, this is a great place. Truly one of my favorite in downtown Wilmington!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MontanaMan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    235
    43
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WILMINGTON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with Copper Penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Everything here is good. Great spot to grab lunch on a work day, a beer after work or dinner on a date. The beer selection and daily specials are solid and the food is amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ilmjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“YUMM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

One of the best in Wilmington!!! Love it here. This is an Eagles (Philadelphia) bar - but the food is excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Copper Penny is our go-to pub in downtown Wilmington. We have eaten here every year when we visit - 3 years running. They have a good beer menu and some great pub grub. The chicken sandwiches are great as is the black bean burger. The fries are really tasty and the asian slaw (served with every sandwich) is very good. It will continue to be our tradition every time we visit Wilmington.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzKMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pub food at it's finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Some of the best pub food, beer and service in the city. we even walked out with a half dunken bottle of vino. the nacho's, fritter and wings were great - quality product with great prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodisfun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Penny also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Copper Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing