We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pub Grub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Penny

Copper Penny
Ranked #8 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Pub Grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Hands down the best pub grub in Wilmington period. Not a lot of staff turnover they end up knowing you after awhile. It's always busy and I wouldn't have it any other way. Meateast and tastiest wings in Wilmington.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cdeangelis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    235
    43
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great food. The cheesesteak with the homemade chips is always a winner. They also have the best wings in town. I like a lot of things on their menu and I highly recommend this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank skibfm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Being of Irish descent I take a certain pride in all things Irish. And having traveled in Ireland I believe I have a slight bit of credulity. The Copper Penny has it exactly right. Atmosphere is excellent. Selection is excellent. and the corned beef is excellent! I had the Reuben and loved every bit. It's my new favorite Reuben in Wilmington. Service was excellent too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RTWin80Days2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I love going here. I love the way the place is decorated. The wait staff is excellent. The food is great. The onion soup is the best I have ever eaten. Highly recommend eating here if you are in town.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Standard pub grub, but tasty w/ very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was in Wilmington recently visiting my retired parents. We were looking for a casual place to enjoy a late lunch on Labor Day so I checked out TA - and the Copper Penny came up. So we gave it a whirl. Inside was the standard pub ambience - a little dark, a few TVs on with the current golf tournament, and only a couple empty tables. We grabbed a table in the rear of the restaurant. The server came quickly and answered a few questions about the menu. My step father had the Reuben, my mother had the fish and chips, and I was craving a burger, so I had the Angus/prime rib burger (or whatever it was called!) -- all 3 dishes were served promptly and at the proper temperature. I ordered my burger mid-rare, and it came out just a tad more done than I would have preferred, but it was very good. The Reuben and fish & chips were also first rate for this type of establishment.
As we left there were a few families coming in w/ small children - not what I would usually expect at a pub, but I think the atmosphere of this place, mixed w/ the holiday, makes this place appealing to 30-somethings w/ kids.
Side note - the owner and his wife (according to our server) are from the Philly/NJ area, and are Philly fans for all sports - so if you're looking for a place to catch the Eagles or any other Philly based pro sports game, this is probably one of your best bets in the Wilmington area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiggerhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Penny also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Copper Penny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing