We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, beautifully prepared”
Review of Caprice Bistro

Caprice Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Caprice Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water St.
Description: French bistro style with a Belgian twist.
Hampstead
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, beautifully prepared”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've been to Caprice several times over the years, mostly for special occasions. It is one of the top 3 restaurants in the Wilmington area, so reservations are a good idea. We took my son & his French wife to dinner there a few days ago & the food was again delicious. For appetizers we had salmon rillettes, tomato tarte tatin, & escargots, all fabulous. For entrees we had pork tenderloin w/apples & onions Normandie style, hanger steak w/frites (authentic!), salmon w/pistachio crust, and lamb shank en cassoulet, all were GREAT! Although we were full, we had to have dessert -- macarons w/chocolate mousse, apple tart w/vanilla ice cream & caramel sauce, profiteroles, and mousse - 1 scoop each of dark chocolate, milk chocolate, and vanilla; yum yum yum!! You will be full and happy when you leave.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    173
    39
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Great Little Place to Eat in Wilmington”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If it is a special occasion, this is one place you should consider going to. Have eaten there often, and the food has been really good. The menu has a good offering to choose from. The service is excellent; the wait staff is friendly and acomadating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wonderful French inspired cuisine. Intimate. Quiet. Very special. A bit pricey but to be expected. Don't miss Caprice Bistro!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NannyBoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and fine service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Food has always been really good every time we have gone. It is a small restaurant so make reservations. Service is spot on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mratliff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Taste of France in Wilmington”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Still phenomenal after 8 years. We returned for our anniversary and were delighted with the
Service and food. Little has changed on the menu. Stick with the French/Belgian cuisine.
Love the House Speciality,Wahoosie, a seafood melange in a fantastic broth. Our friend's
Enjoyed the lamb shanks and coq au vin. Nice selection of wine and don't pass up the moules!
The appetizers were excellent- onion soup, pâté, and a delectable asparagus salad.
Unfortunately, we ahead to pass on the desserts but they looked delectable.
Considering the quality of the food and service, it is excellent value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emangramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Caprice Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing