We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Caprice Bistro

Caprice Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Caprice Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 691 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water St.
Description: French bistro style with a Belgian twist.
Greensboro
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This restaurant seemed highly rated but our dinner was off the mark. The menu was average and the off menu items nothing unique. The salads were good but the main courses were overcooked. The service was better than the food but not stellar given that the restaurant was not fully booked. It just did not measure up to its rating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    173
    39
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service great, atmosphere great, food OK”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had dinner recently and our waiter was excellent. Both of us had crepes. Mine was the vegetable crepe which had a wierd spicy tang due to sun dried tomatoes and not enough fresh vegetables in it. My companion had the spinach and cheese crepe and hers was tasty. We both had dessert. She had the carmalized apple and I had creme brulee. Hers was good, the creme brulee was cold inside and quite bland. They need to heat it up more and it was not light at all.
I admit I was ruined after having the creme brulee at Joshua Wilton House in Harrisonburg Va there's was ethereal! No restaurant has been able to match this since.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGJ28451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Lost a star for lackluster service.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Our waiter was very good but the "back waiters" were not up to snuff. They repeatedly forgot little things, even after being asked twice. And those delivering food should know where it goes without asking. We had pork Normandie, really wonderful and bistro steak, also very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Resturant in Wilmongton”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Duck confite and the pomme frites are not to be missed. Excellent bar with expresso martini upstairs

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWG1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service. Ok food.”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The service was great. Excellent recommendation on wine. Cocktails were awesome. Found the food to be good. The meals were prepared well - meat cooked just right. But seasoning was a bit understated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmw86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Caprice Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing