We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! A hidden jewel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caprice Bistro

Caprice Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Caprice Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water St.
Description: French bistro style with a Belgian twist.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow! A hidden jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

On chance, we decided to pop in to the Caprice Bistro for dinner. The restaurant is tucked away in the historic section of downtown Wilmington, NC. Immediately, we loved the cozy ambience, looking so authentically French. My husband ordered the lamb shank with vegetables and potatoes and I ordered the spinach salad, steak, and frites. The wild mushroom sauce on the steak was fabulous. All rivaled food that we have eaten in France in the past. The wine that we ordered from an extensive list was superb! We will definitely return to this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ASPSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    163
    35
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing menu beautifully executed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is consistently wonderful. Well trained staff, thoughtful wine list, updated versions of classical dishes, and a great location. Trout almandine, pork cheeks, faux gras, steak and frites, and duck confit were flawless. We feel compelled to return time after time until we try everything on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buffy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food is good, but atmosphere and martinis make it better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a cozy little French bistro in downtown Wilmington. The location is great, and the staff is very friendly.

The food isn't going to "wow" you, but it is still good. The martinis and atmosphere make this place worthwhile though. That, and the excellent staff.

I would recommend going upstairs to the "sofa bar" for a pre-dinner martini, and then sitting up there for dinner as well. The staff is always smiling, and they are very helpful.

Great restaurant for special ocassions and and small dinners with friends. Not a family/kid friendly restaurant.

We look forward to going back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Delicieux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I ordered the steak frites and both were perfectly done....plus a gaspacho soup for appetizer ....and a very generous portion of wine....fresh from the bottle....
the music was French.....the restaurant is small and delightful....
sweet servers....not overbearing but efficient....right near the Cape Fear River....and Thalian Hall...
perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JB1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“mmmm mmmm good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We wanted to go for seafood and a river view, but the last time we did that here we were a bit disappointed. So we checked on Trip Advisor and saw the reviews for Caprice Bistro.
First off, there is NO handicap parking close by. When I asked the parking meter dude, he said that we would just need to find a place on the street. Luckily a spot opened up across the street so it wasn't bad.
Although this is a tight little restaurant, it seemed bigger thanks to well placed mirrors. Of course I hate looking at myself when eating, so hubby sat on that side! Little touches such as a divider and curtain cordoning off the kitchen was nice. The decor was lovely and the food to follow was delish. We shared the spinach salad which they nicely divided for us. It was fresh and very tasty. For dinner hubby got the seafood stewy thing (Waterzooi) which he LOVED! I had the grouper which I now will order again at other places. We got the Belgian chocolate cake for dessert and took it to a bench by the river to eat. When we opened it we were surprised to find ice cream inside (a bit melted of course) too!
The staff was super friendly and gave us the right amount of attention.
All in all it was a great experience. Make sure you try this place if you are in the area!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank smlnmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Caprice Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing