We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find in Wilmington!”
Review of Caprice Bistro

Caprice Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Caprice Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water St.
Description: French bistro style with a Belgian twist.
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful find in Wilmington!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Saw the wonderful reviews, but still had a hard time believing there could be such a great French bistro in Wilmington. Hubby and I went tonight, and loved it -- awesome food and service. I had an incredible coq a vin, and he had a steak with pomme fritters. We shared an appetizer plate of cheese, pate, and calamari; pâté was exceptionally good. As it is Sunday, select bottles of wine are 1/2 price; we shared a very good bottle of Argentinan malbec. And, yes, finished with an awesome serving of hazelnut Creme brûlée. Not an inexpensive evening, but worth every penny. Will definitely go back again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    173
    39
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had dinner with some dear friends from Virginia while on vacation at Kure Beach. This was a great spot and we plan to add it to our list of yearly traditions. Service and food were great. Only negative was the A/C was too cold, but a small price to pay when everything else was wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMSDLS107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Bright, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Intimate dining”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely little French bistro in the heart of Wilmington. The restaurant is small and typical of a French bistro with side by side dining. The service was very good as was the food. Upstairs they have a martini bar with red velvet drapes and couches. We were unaware that you could dine upstairs and sit by a window overlooking the street. I would recommend requesting a table upstairs as it was much cozier and quieter from the downstairs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely....”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Second trip to Caprice Bistro. Booked through Open Table and requested the table by the window so we could people watch. The mussels are amazing. The Filet awesome. The crusty bread was yummy. Solid French restaurant worth a visit or two.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colleen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“It is what it says it is: a solid French bistro”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Before going to Caprice was puzzled by the range of reviews, from blissful to disappointed. After our dinner there I think I understand it: this is a good, straight-forward French bistro. The food is above average for a bistro, but with apologies to a previous poster, it is not high-end, New York French restaurant cuisine. The place is pleasant, but it is close quarters- typical of a bistro. It is a bit uneven, so I suspect that you figure out what they are good at and stick with that- especially mussels and the fries that come with them! The grilled romaine is done better a little further down the waterfront, mostly because at Caprice they don't split the romaine, so it is only grilled on one side and there is a lot of just plain lettuce in the middle (also, it is harder to cut, as it rolls). The flounder was fine. So, overall this is a place that does what it says on the tin: it is a solid French/Belgian bistro: a small restaurant, serving moderately priced, simple meals in a modest setting. Enjoy it for what it is!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Caprice Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing