We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I absolutely love Caprice Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caprice Bistro

Caprice Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Caprice Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 668 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Water St.
Description: French bistro style with a Belgian twist.
Wilmington NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I absolutely love Caprice Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great food with reasonable prices. Don't miss the Strudel Danube or the pate. We typically enjoy dining at the sofa bar, but the dining room is true to the bistro style.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NCwineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    170
    35
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

By it's location I first thought tourist trap, but decided to dive in anyway, nothing could be further from the truth. This restaurant is a real gem, the kind of place you want to keep to yourself, but in doing so your afraid they may leave and that would be very upsetting. Looks can be deciveing and this is the case here, but where do I start, the food of course. The food in this restaurant is simply amazing, you will really enjoy it if you are well traveled, and you will love it if you are a little adventuresome, this is THE place to step outside your comfort zone. I consider myself a foodie and some of the best food and service I have had has been out of this tiny restaurant. A must try menu item is the waterzooi, the mussels and fresh fish, pork cheeks, and lamb shank are wonderful as well.
The service is not obtrusive, or distracting, but competent and relaxing, no pretense here. PS don't go on Tuesdays that's my night and I don't like to wait too long.
R. Gantt

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best meal this side of the Atlantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had just come from three nights in Charleston, SC, living large at company expense (actually, a company outing). Dining very fine in "Chucktown," but Caprice in Wilmington beats them all. Superb selection of standard French delicacies on price fixe menu. I had the pate mousse appetizer (served hot with a lovely sauce), followed by a beef bourguignonion in which one could taste every component. Servitors were not French, but that's a good thing: Pleasant, quick and efficient. One of the tastiest meals I've had this side of the Atlantic: Top drawer.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertNorwalk_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“every item is delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This restuart is one of our favorites. I love the mussels and salmon and my husband loves the pork cheeks and mushroom crepes. Their waterzooi is their speciality and is DELICIOUS. the cozy feel is very much like a small French bistro. Go and you will enjoy it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank calgaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great french bistro i the Port City of Wilmington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wonderful, small french bistro on Market St. in downtown Wilmington. One block from the river. Downstairs is just like a bistro in France: small, busy, even a bit on the loud side, but IMO, all of that is what makes it a bistro. Wonderful menu with many choices for appetizers, entree, salads, and dessert. Great wine menu. Prices very reasonable.

Has a second floor with a bar and sitting area and it is much quiter. So, head upstairs if that's what you need. But, it's a completely different vibe than downstairs.

A plus: forgot my reading glasses, but they have some you can borrow. Always a nice touch in my book.

Also, I'd make reservations for Thurs - Sat. nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jnenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Caprice Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing