We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, favorite desserts :)”

Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 668 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dock St.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
515 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, favorite desserts :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have been to Yo Sake several times over recent years, and have never been disappointed. This visit was no exception. The menu offers something for all taste preferences, from spicy, to sushi, to grilled. While everything was good for our group of five, the highlight was dessert. They have yummy peanut butter wontons dipped in chocolate and served with coconut ice cream. I love coconut ice cream and my husband loves those warm peanut butter wontons. What a wonderful ending to our meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoisNCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    28
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi and atmosphere downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Downtown Wilmington is full of fun for our Fri/Sat nights out downtown. Yosake has great sushi and great service. We dine here occasionally whether its just the two of us or out on the town with friends. You will not be disappointed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Got what I paid for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went to Yo Sake for the half price sushi from 5-7. The firecracker shrimp was definitely my favorite. It's worth going just for that. Everything else was not very exciting. I got the spicy tuna role, which was tiny and looked like sushi from a grocery store. However, it was cheaper than sushi from a grocery store, so that was something. My husband got the crunchy tuna roll, and like other reviewers have stated, it really is just a tuna roll with breadcrumbs on top. We also got the sashimi, which was okay, but the imitation crab was a turn off. Hopefully, the full price items are better quality, and larger, since the half-price sushi definitely wasn't worth more than the $4/roll that we paid for it. The building is nice, but I do agree that the giant, anime characters are a little creepy and the service was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherryaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best vegetarian sushi in wilmington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the farmhouse roll. Highly recommend. Not a lot of interesting sushi options out there generally for a vegetarian, well this roll got my attention. Great combination of fresh ingredients wrapped in delicate avocado topped with a sweet and heat light sauce. So good.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Jean_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatteras Island, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi with Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had the pleasure to share the Yo Sake experience for the 3rd time last weekend, this visit with three sushi consuming friends. As always, everything was fresh, beautifully prepared, and professionally presented.

Good food should be the cost of entry for any restaurant. The true differentiator is service, and Yo Sake does not disappoint. The hostess Erin was professional, personable, and made us all feel most welcome. The server Heather was in many ways the highlight of the experience. Under any circumstance, she'd have been a server to be glad for. One of our party was less experienced with sushi than the rest. Heather made it her mission to help our friend find the rolls and nigiri she'd best enjoy, without making her feel the least bit intimidated.

There may be a better sushi place in Wilmington. If so, I've not yet found it. Yo Sake is part of a Wilmington experience not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OBX_Innkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing