We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi and drink specials.”

Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dock St.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi and drink specials.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

YoSake has a great 1/2 price appetizer and sushi menu everyday from 5-7. The Firecracker Shrimp is delicious. The food and service where top notch. The sushi was fresh and tasty. Great local, trendy place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tubasurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Make a reservation!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Be sure to call ahead to get into YoSake. The place is rather small! The food was great, however. We went on Wednesday night and there were lots of specials... let me say FIRECRACKER SHRIMP FOR $5!!! The specials were great, and the menu interesting. We had the firecracker shrimp (of course) and the Pimpin' Shrimp sushi roll and The Rooster sushi roll. The Rooster is an interesting take on sushi... it's chicken, bacon, other stuff and barbeque sauce. I was with a group of 8 and we were all happy. Good atmosphere. If you're downtown and looking for sushi or asian cuisine, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmarret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food was just....OK”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tried this place and was hopeful. It's in a cool scenic place, cool building too, but the food is definitely nothing to rave about. The people who have tried this place and said the food was great have not had what food of this type is suppose to taste like. Not the worst and the price was terrible but they need to kick it up a notch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodster117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trendy & Good”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went here last Friday night... I'm not a sushi connoseuir, but I know when its not good. I found it to be good. Definitely better than average. Prices were reasonable and we happened to get a window pub table and could people watch. To describe the atmosphere is not easy... It doesn't feel like an asian restaurant, and I dont think I saw any asian people working there. But it was packed and the service was still pretty quick. It appears they do E-reservations so thats cool. I would definitely recommend checking it out. You can either pay to park or plan to walk a few blocks. We generally walk around some when we eat downtown and stopped by Kilwin's that night. Its only a 5 minute walk up the street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brandonhill28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good mid week specials”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

2 dollar pbr's and other great specials on a wednesday. the place was pretty lively and most of the people there seemed to be enjoying themselves. i had heard good things about this place and we gave it a try. the menu is a bit overwhelming but everything looks really good so it was difficult to decide. we got crab dip to start, which was served with warm pita and was excellent. then i got a spicy tuna roll for 3 bucks, which was serviceable, a lemongrass soup which was a bit chunky for my tastes but still good and a small panang curry. they brought be a large curry because it was also on special and i ended up having enough for lunch the next day. the curry was different, the sweet potatoes made it interesting, but it couldve used a bit more sauce. i would definitely go back. they seem to have something for everyone. the others with me ordered specialty rolls and were very pleased with yo sake's inventive take on sushi. one of them had pineapple in the roll, which i had never seen before. overall, it was a good time. give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aureliusjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Yo Sake Downtown Sushi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing