We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night time stroll”
Review of Historic District

Historic District
Ranked #3 of 113 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest districts listed with the National Register of Historical Places.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“night time stroll”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice weather for a an evening stroll. walked by the riverfront . many restaurants to choose from. Only downfall is parking

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    242
    52
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“$1/min horse drawn tour”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Yesterday we decided to take the Tours by Horse-Drawn Carriage to learn some of the history of historic Wilmington. This was the longest 15 minutes of our lives. The tour mainly consisted of the driver identifying restaurants to us, reading the signs aloud, and occasionally identifying which buildings had apartments for rent. He knew nothing, or at least shared nothing, about the history of Wilmington even when we asked him leading questions. The tour is advertised to be a half an hour but we really were only gone 15 minutes (and were charged $12/person for this). Also, we were asked to pay $5 for an 18-month old who just sat on her grandfather's lap. Avoid this tour!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Kmccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spanish moss heaven!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Cobblestone streets, gas lights, old mansions lovingly cared for; what more could one ask? I believe there is a trolley available as well, to transport admirers through the streets. Just lovely!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luckytraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Antebellum time capsule”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our first visit to Wilmington, and like other trips to Charleston and Savannah, we know that the best way to know and learn about the city is by taking one or more horse carriage tours. We got to see the main streets, old mansions, historic sites and buildings, beautiful gardens and fountains. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the city’s history, points of interest and landmarks. He was also funny and very entertaining. We saw a lot, learned a lot and had a lot of fun!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Southern charm along the Cape Fear River.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The historic district here in Wilmington is not as big or fancy as Charleston or Savannah, but it is definitely as do not miss when visiting. Stop in on market street and take the horse drawn trolley tour. Dine along the riverfront restaurants (my favorite is The George) Don't forget to stop in at Kilwin's for candy or ice cream. Lovely picturesque spot to take a walk. (FYI: NOT safe after dark, pls be careful and do not wander around alone!)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NCMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic District also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing