We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“reclaimed waterfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Historic District

Historic District
Ranked #3 of 109 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest districts listed with the National Register of Historical Places.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“reclaimed waterfront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Interesting old architecture but ultimately not a lot going on. Not very lively. Some tourist shops. Some restaurants with live music. This is a small downtown and a day or so completes a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    230
    50
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Enjoyed walking around”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We walked through the Historic District at night and enjoyed ourselves. We found there were a variety of restaurants and stores to stop in to. We wished we had the opportunity to see it during the day. The houses in the area are beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybug314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice evening out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our second trip to Historic Wilmington just to browse. I particularly enjoy the opportunity to stroll along the Cape Fear River on the walkway and choose a restaurant from many options.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Cotton Exchange”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Shops were nice and found a variety of goods and services. We ate lunch near the riverfront and found parking to be easily available on Labor Day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldGIRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a waterfront!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Wilmington waterfront, river walk, Coast Guard ship,cruise ships,yachts and sailboats,restaurants and stores are a true gem. Don't miss it! And the USS North Carolina is directly across the river.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lew942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic District also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing