We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad news place”
Review of Front Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Front Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Bad news place”
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Judging by the other reviews here, some guests are treated differently from others. We found the inn people cold and unfriendly, sometimes sarcastic, and rarely helpful. They also complained every time they had to get up from their desk and do something for a guest.

They also couldn't seem to unify on which of their guests was staying in which room and at what price. (Why was my friend quoted one rate, and me another on a different phone call for the same room? Why aren't prices posted on their website, in chart form, according to room and date and date of effectiveness, including rate changes?; Why don't guests receive an invoice immediately after booking and prior to arrival, like other area inns do? )

Sure, the rooms are "decorated", but that's the definition of an inn these days. And I wouldn't expect to be price-gouged for it, like we were here. They brag about their breakfasts, but it's just a bunch of sweetrolls and coffee. Way too much sugar. Where's the protein? Especially for those outrageous prices.

Their mini-toiletries are "for sale" at the front desk, in case you didn't get your room re-supplied one or more days.

I'll never stay here again; these owners are too greedy. I'll stay at the other inns there which are much friendlier, nicer, and more honest. And most of them do serve a real breakfast.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    22
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
84
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 25, 2006

This was our (my wife and myself) first experience with a "Bed and Breakfast". We really don't have anything to compare it to, but in our opinion, we didn't feel that it was worth the money that was paid. It is a very comfortable, friendly, unique place to stay, we believe it comes up short on value. Keep in mind our earlier statement about this being our first time at a "Bed and Breakfast". Our package cost &228.00, so maybe we were expecting too much. When we are used to staying at a motel for $60-$70 a night with a continental breakfast our expectations may have been too high. The ambiance was great, but not worth the difference.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

I recently spent a long weekend at the Front Street Inn and the worst part about it was leaving! I stayed in the Pearl S. Buck suite which was very clean and stylishly decorated (not in the antique-y way most Bed and Breakfasts are). The breakfast that they serve is delicious and was re-stocked frequently by the extremely friendly staff. I actually got one of their spa packages and had a bottle of champagne chilling on ice when I arrived, along with hand-dipped chocolate covered strawberries, a goodie basket, and an in-house massage. I can't wait for my next stay in this lovely hidden treasure. If you get the chance, stay in this inn!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CasperJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 25, 2003

We stayed at the Front Street Inn for a long holiday weekend and loved it. Our room was the "Segovia" which cost $138 per night (not including taxes). This room has a poster bed, comfy leather recliner w/ottoman, wet bar, a table and two chairs, and an armoire with television. The room has a 14' ceiling and a ceiling fan over the bed. Although located on the first floor and on the street side of the inn, the room was very quiet. The bath did not include a bathtub but did have an oversized shower. The bath had a unique decorative paint motif done by a local artist. Two plush robes were provided in the suite as well. Our friends stayed in the "Cabana" suite on the second floor. This is a slightly larger suite which also has a wet bar and a garden tub as well. This room cost $188 per night. Rooms on the second floor may be accessed by a private stair at the outside of the building. This led to a private porch area adjacent to the second floor suites. Breakfasts were in the main entry area and featured a wonderful variety of juices, coffee, fruits, cheeses, cereal, and breads with jam. In the evenings we enjoyed relaxing in the Sol y Sombra bar area with a glass of wine. After returning from dinner in the evening, we enjoyed playing pool downstairs in the activity room. Our group found that the Inn is very close to the riverwalk and this was an excellent place for morning jogging. (The Inn is within easy walking distance of many restaurants and shops.) Innkeepers Jay and Stefany helped with recommendations for dining and even made reservations for us. They also helped someone from our group arrange a visit to a local day-spa. Altogether it was a wonderfully quiet, private place to stay with luxury amenities at a very reasonable price.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2003

My fiancé and I enjoy taking several trips a year to Wilmington for weekend vacations and had always stayed on the beach. This March, we stayed at the Front Street Inn downtown and I must say it was spectacular. We will never stay on the beach again. The owners put their heart and soul into the place and it shows. The entire inn was immaculate and the staff was so personable. The rooms all have different themes and very comfortable. We stayed in a suite called the Bistro, which included a contemporary style hand painted bed, jacuzzi and beautiful hard wood floors all for $150 + tax. It was well worth every penny. You really have to see it to believe it. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.5 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Property: Front Street Inn
Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn of Wilmington is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright suite has a unique personality. As one of Our State magazine's 21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina, we are exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for. There are many bed and breakfasts on the Cape Fear River, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing