We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Front Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Front Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed in the Taverna Suite which I recommend for privacy. It has a private entrance in the back and is at ground level. It is very bright and updated with a two person shower. Overall we liked the Inn since it is more contemporary than many historic inns but we discovered that not all of the rooms were as updated as the Taverna so ask questions if you are particular.

The breakfast was adequate but we thought the coffee was weak. We did not take advantage of the honor system drinks since there are so many restaurants within walking distance.

The Inn is very clean and the parking lot is a plus.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dbrown46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 136 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2012

We arrived in Wilmington late and found the Front Street Inn by chance, and what a find. Beautiful buildings, lovely rooms, great breakfasts, very nice hosts and the location is perfect for walking in lovely Wilmington too. What more could you want? Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTW-in-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I decided to take a quick trip to Wilmington as we have we heard wonderful reviews about the area. After checking out the 16 B&B's in the area, The Front Street Inn, was the only one that had a more modern feel. We stayed in the Bistro Suite which large and a huge spa tub. There was an additional exit to a balcony that over looked the garden area. Parking is a premium downtown and they Inn offers plenty of parking. The breakfast was made by Polly and the quiche was excellent both days. The breakfast in the sunroom made each morning a pleasant way to start off the day. Richard provided us with a map and suggestions for things to do in the area. If you want a modern feel and an excellent location, then the Front Street Inn, is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Bistro Suite is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lasvegasll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Front Street Inn over a late March weekend and loved everything about the place. The owners are very friendly and helpful if you have any questions about things to do or restaurants in the area. The Inn is within walking distance of all the historic homes, the riverwalk, and all the best restaurants in town. We stayed in the Cabana room because I thought my wife would enjoy the jetted tub (which she very much did). Having wine and beer available at the downstairs bar on the honor system is a fun bonus. The breakfasts are not gourmet but certainly adequate. The coffee was surprisingly good. Altogether I recommend the place heartily as a fun getaway spot at a fantastic value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jglamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at this charming inn for the first time this past weekend. Our room was perfect and spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet was fresh and delicious both mornings. It was a huge perk for us to have breakfast available for hours rather than having to arrive at a certain time each morning if you wanted to eat. As other reviews have stated, the on site parking with so much within walking distance is a huge bonus. Lots of quaint touches like fresh cookies available in the afternoon and evening beverages available on the honor system only added to the delightful ambiance. I would highly recommend and we will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedBloodedGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This inn is really delightful. The breakfast buffet is very good with a great selection. Our room was on the first floor and it was very quiet. The free on-site parking is a real plus. We will definitely stay here again whenever we return to Wilmington.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequentflierwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We called and spoke to Richard and received a rate below the website's published rates. The location is fantastic - in the heart of downtown, waliking distance to shops, restaurants and clubs. We appreciated the free off street parking as parking is a nightmare in downtown Wilmington on weekends. We stayed in the Pearl Buck suite and absolutely loved it. The atmosphere and attitude at the inn is relaxed and extremely friendly. Breakfast was buffet style with many selections and quiche as a hot entree one day and a casserole the next.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
7.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Carolina Beach
0.1 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#22 of 45 in Wilmington
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.2 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#4 of 18 in Wilmington
307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angies' Bed and Breakfast
Angies' Bed and Breakfast
#14 of 18 in Wilmington
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Front Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Street Inn

Address: 215 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4414
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $158 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Our State magazine's "21 perfect places to stay in North Carolina." The Front Street Inn is an inclusive, award-winning, full-service boutique hotel and bed & breakfast offering peace and privacy in the heart of Wilmington’s historic downtown business and entertainment district. Decorated with beauty and comfort in mind, the Front Street Inn is alive with American art and furnishings gathered at galleries, fairs, auctions and attics. Each spacious and bright room and suite has a unique personality and amenities. The grounds are peaceful with well-kept gardens and pleasant outdoor seating to relax the mind, body, and soul. The Front Street Inn is exceptionally well equipped with everything the discerning leisure and business traveler is looking for, including a daily complimentary full buffet breakfast, FREE high-speed wireless Internet and probably best of all...FREE on-site parking. There are many places to stay on the Cape Fear River and Carolina Coast, none as wonderful as the Front Street Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Front Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Street Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing