We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host in a convenient location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Chapel Hill NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful host in a convenient location”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Highly recommend this B&B. Jay, the owner, is a great host. He provides excellent recommendations for dining and his own culinary skills made Sunday breakfast special. Accommodations were excellent value. Cold weekend when we were there was made better by a visit to this home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCNewbie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I stayed at blue heaven b&b with my boyfriend, and we both loved the place! The b&b is at a very convenient location, because you can just walk over to the riverfront. The hosts were super friendly. Breakfast was great, and they gave us a lot of info on local attractions and eateries, and really went out of their way to make our stay extremely pleasant.
I'd highly highly recommend this place if you want a low-key, cozy and comfortable stay in wilmington. ps. the other rooms looked great, but the key west room was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyD0INeedOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexdej
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We arrived at the Blue Heaven (after receiving detailed directions from the innkeeper) and were immediately charmed by the neighborhood. Blue Heaven is located in the old historic part of Wilmington, and just a short walk from downtown. We stayed in the Newport Room, which I can highly recommend. It's a comfortable and pleasant place to stay, with a very friendly and knowledgable innkeeper and a wonderful breakfast. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexdej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We chose Blue Heaven after reading reviews here on TripAdvisor. The house is beautiful and in a fantastic location in the historic district. The room we had was called the "Newport Room" and had a private bath across the hall. This proved not to be any Inconvenience. The bedroom was well-appointed, bright and cheery. Next to it was a common room (large sitting room) which had drinks, books, magazines, a tv, etc which was a great place to unwind after spending the evening downtown.
Lisal, our Innkeeper for the weekend, was wonderful and made us feel right at home. I'll be going back in July for the weekend.
This place has a perfect location for new visitors to Wilmington. You are in the midst of the lovely historic district and can walk just a few blocks to the waterfront. You can also easily get to Wrightsville beach, as we did, by taking Wrightsville Ave which is a "Gothic Southern" road canopied by trees and Spanish moss.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RileyinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I have had the pleasure of staying at several Bed and Breakfast's, and am very picky. Blue Heaven exceeded my expectations.
First, the house is gorgeous for the era. It is in a quiet neighborhood lined with trees and history, but just a short walk to the lively downtown & "riverwalk". The inside of the house is charming & clean with well-appointed decor. For this old of a house, it does not have a musty odor (which I am particularly sensitive too). We stayed in one of the spacious suites with a claw-foot bathtub and King bed. The decor, again, was perfect - plus the bathroom looks recently renovated in pretty blue tile and soft lavender walls.
The host thought of everything for a comfortable stay - extra towels within reach of the tub, bubble bath, complimentary robes, a small portable fan in the room, extension cords in the outletsfor easy plug-in, a basket for keys & a flat-screened TV mounted to the wall (but with arm extension so you could move it for easy viewing). The common area down the hall has games, movies, books, and a fridge with complimentary beer, bottled water and sodas. Plus a microwave with popcorn for your movie. Also, there is a small porch with sitting area off of the common area.
If you don't stay in the suites, I did have a peek at the other rooms, and although smaller with Queen beds, they looked very nice.
The breakfast was good, but the only downside is if you are an early riser, you will have to wait until 9am. Coffee and tea were ready around 8am. If you wake early (like we did), take a quick stroll to one of several bakeries and coffee shops. Don't miss the beautiful church a couple blocks toward Market Street along Orange Street.
Be aware that this is a dog-friendly place, so if you have allergies, you may want to ask if pets will be present during your stay. We actually took both of our medium sized dogs and were pleasantly surprised at how well received we were! Jay, the host, greeted us with extra water dishes and "dog towels", plus he let us know he could secure his backyard so that they could run freely! There are plenty of places to walk with them and even a dog-friendly bakery called "Java Dog" with bagels and treats for your furry friends!
Parking was easy - all on street and without any meters.
All in all, you won't regret your stay at this little piece of heaven.

  • Liked — All of the perfect details, the room & the area.
  • Disliked — Breakfast served at 9am (typical for some B & B's)
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank outasight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

Had a one-night stay at Blue Heaven. According to our host, Jay, it was an unusual weekend as he waived the usual weekend 2-night stay requirements, and the whole house was booked with 1-night stands. It was quite enjoyable though.

What we liked:
* Beautiful historic Queen Anne house, with great outdoor spaces (balcony and porch--great spaces to pass time)
* Nicely appointed rooms (we stayed at Sanibel central), adn old family pictures and artifacts in the common areas give teh property a great air
* Jay being extremely helpful and welcoming; he also had plenty of literature on local area
* Tasty, not run-of-the-mill breakfast

Other points
* Blue Heaven allows children. Good for us and another couple, but some people might prefer the no-kid policy which is almost standard for luxury B&Bs
* Breakfast served at fixed time: 9am. Jay wants his guests to socialize with each other, and I suppose it's easier to cook for all at once
* No room keys--rooms left unlocked
* Air conditioning ran a little cold for our taste, but probably average for most others
* It was strange being asked to sign the guestbook right on arrival?!
* Our bathroom was ensuite, but another room had it across the hallway

All in all, a good experience!

  • Liked — The house itself-a beauty!
  • Disliked — A little too cold inside, Southern-style
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shahmatist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Heaven from July 13th - July 16th and we had a wonderful time. We arrived late afternoon on July 13th and Jay, Owner, was awaiting our arrival after having called earlier on our cell phone to make sure we were all set with directions (we were driving from Greenville, SC). This was very much appreciated! After arriving we were treated to a tour of the property which is very nice and equipped with just about anything a guest may need. If it's not in your room just ask and the Blue Heaven has it!

We stayed in the Newport Room (only room that doesn't have an ensuite bath), but with our bath down the hall we never had any problem or even saw the other guests during our morning rituals. Not a problem at all. The room itself was lovely, with a great view of the street and opportunity to watch the neigbors cats each morning while sipping our first coffee of the day. In addition to the room there is a sitting room upstairs with magazines, books, videos, refrigerator including complementary beverages. Very nice touch. Downstairs you can enjoy a large living room, large front porch, and elegant dining room.

Breakfast on a daily basis was to die for! We were treated to fruit, coffee, eggs, sausage, and waffles the first morning - yummy! The second morning was fruit, coffee, soufles and awesome pecan coffee cake. The last morning we were leaving very early to catch a flight out of Raleigh and Jay was gracious enough to start the coffee a bit early and provide a going away breakfast of juice, fruit, granalo and hardboiled eggs. This was extremely appreciated!

Jay, our host, was very enjoyable and always around to help, please, and inquire about our day. Don't hesitate to ask his opinion for restaurants, tours, site seeing opportunities and the history of Wilmington. He seems to truly enjoy his job as host!

Wilmington, NC itself was fabulous - I would not think twice about visiting again and the Blue Heaven is a good choice as far as location is concerned. We walked everyday and enjoyed the scenery on our way into Historic Wilmington.

  • Liked — Our Host, Jay!
  • Disliked — Air Conditioning kept low at night.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bed & Breakfast's are for people that enjoy interaction and meeting new people!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vttravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.5 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#20 of 44 in Wilmington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Address: 517 Orange St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4609
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an historic home near the Riverwalk in Wilmington. All rooms are large and light with original interior design. Three rooms have en suite bathrooms; a fourth has a separate private bathroom. A gourmet breakfast is served each morning in the dining room. Blue Heaven is within close walking distance of dining, shopping, and the river. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing