We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect Weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Blue Heaven at the end of October and I have to say it was one of our most memorable trips to Wilmington. We were able to do everything that we wanted to do in town and it was all within walking distance. This was our first trip to a Bed and Breakfast and will not be our last after this visit. Jay was a great host and provided a clean, comfortable and inviting atmosphere. He also had a lot of great recommendations on things to do in town. We really had a great trip and hope to return soon! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafranklin0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach NY
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

September for a quick overnight was a great time of year to visit Wilmington. The B&B was very bright and clean, breakfast was scrumptious and Jay's hospitality fabulous. The Blue heaven is very convenient to the main waterfront area, a short walk to everything. We took the horse carriage ride around the historical district and it went right past our bed and breakfast! (we could have walked faster though!)

The rooms are large and had ample storage space, hair dryer in the bathroom ( my wife was happy), there was a spare room that was used as a guest 'hang out area' with fridge, wine and beer glasses, even some snacks! Jay stocked the fridge with beer and soda for us to use and was extremely accommodating even offering to put a bottle of wine in there for us.

All in all a very nice place to stay convenient and great value for money.

Room Tip: Call Jay directly, there is one room that does not have an ensuite bathroom and one room that has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Blue Heaven was our first B&B stay, and it was a wonderful experience! Jay was a very gracious host. The accommodations were very comfortable. The location of this B&B makes it easy to enjoy downtown Wilmington by walking and the beach with a short drive. We enjoyed wonderful breakfasts and great conversations. Jay gave us great suggestions about the area and better stories about its history. We stayed in Sanibel Central, which was beautiful. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricklasseter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We would highly recommend Blue Heaven for a budget minded stay with all of the amenities of the high end BnB's. Our host Jay was very welcoming and informative, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast excellent. In a nice residential area, You can park your car out front and walk to everything, 5 minutes to river walk and downtown. Spacious LR/DR and an upstairs lounge area with complimentary beverages.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Heaven for 5 nights in August 2013 and enjoyed our stay very much. We would highly recommend it. We stayed in Sanibel South, a large room on the front of the house - very comfortable king size bed, plenty of room, private bath and all the amenities. The breakfasts were delicious, Jay is a great cook! Very conveniently located, walking distance to the Riverwalk and the downtown area restaurants. Jay Gatrell, the owner, is very hospitable, and very generous with information about the town, recommendations, directions etc. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Key West room in July for 3 nights. Both my husband and I really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return or recommend this B & B to our friends. The entire house was very clean and well kept. We loved our room, large enough for 2 and unique decor. The bed was comfortable and the room temperature for July was perfect. I really appreciated the little sitting room across the hall since my husband went to bed earlier than me every evening. I was able to read without bothering him. The house was quiet at night. The location was great; a beautiful walk through the neighborhood down to the waterfront. Jay and Donna were delightful. Their recommendations for things to do and places to eat were perfect. Jay was great about informing us of things to do that he had heard about on the radio. We were able to visit a small quilt show in town. The breakfasts were varied, hot and perfect for people with different tastes. He always checked to ensure there were no food dislikes/allergies. The front and back porches were very inviting as well. We will definitely return on our next visit.

Room Tip: Key West room is a great value. Don't think you could go wrong with any room at this B & B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

this bed and breakfast was trully a treat, the room was very nice, the facilty was clean. the host had us in stitches and was very well travelled, nice porch, overall a great experience. We stayed in the newport room, the bathroom was across the way but we didn't find it as an inconvenience--bathrobes were provided and the bathroom was quite nice. It was close to downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67lindaj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Address: 517 Orange St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4609
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an historic home near the Riverwalk in Wilmington. All rooms are large and light with original interior design. Three rooms have en suite bathrooms; a fourth has a separate private bathroom. A gourmet breakfast is served each morning in the dining room. Blue Heaven is within close walking distance of dining, shopping, and the river. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing