We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would love to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 18 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend at the time (now fiance) and I went there for my birthday a few years ago and ever since have been looking for an excuse to get away and go back! The rooms were incredible! They were clean, quiet and well decorated! There was a room down the hall to watch movies and hang out. Jay was a wonderful host and runs this B&B so well! Breakfast was amazing and the location is great! It was a perfect birthday!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1happygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We arrived in Wilmington kinda late in the day and lucky for us we called the Blue Heaven BB. We called and Jay said he had a room. Upon arrival it was easy to find and also a very short walk to Front street on the river. Room was very clean and comfortable. Jay was an excellent host and made our stay very enjoyable. We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Our weekend in Wilmington was absolutely wonderful, made even more so by staying at Blue Heaven. Wonderful breakfasts, convenient location, charming decor, and excellent conversations around the breakfast table all came together to make a great experience. Jay is a delightful host who shows careful attention to the smallest need. Delightful time.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dikay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The pictures of the place don't do it any justice. This Inn is well maintained inside and out. The Sanibel room might have the most comfortable king bed in which I've ever slept. Jay is a very friendly and social owner that truly cares about your stay. Breakfasts are thoughtful, not just bacon and eggs. The house has a few different rooms to relax away from the bedroom. Cable TV. Spacious rooms with high ceilings. Coffee in the morning. Two relaxing outdoor porches.
A 10 minute walk to downtown. For the value, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Some say that three is a charm, and my third stay at Blue Heaven Bed & Breakfast certainly validates that sentiment. My wife and I stayed at Blue Heaven for the third time in the last two years. When we planned our vacation to Wilmington, NC, we immediately knew that Blue Heaven was where we wanted to stay. The inn keeper, Jay Gartrell, maintains the rooms in an excellent, clean condition. We personally stayed in a room called ‘Key West’. Each morning at 9:00 am, breakfast is served, which consists of three courses. First, all guests begin their breakfast with a bowl of fruit; the second is followed by the main course. A sweet snack follows the main course to finish up the breakfast. Coffee is available throughout the breakfast. Each day is a different breakfast meal. What a great start to the day! During this particular stay, I enjoyed reading in the downstairs parlor inside Blue Heaven. Guests are free to come and go as they please, so whether you are inside Blue Heaven or enjoying the Wilmington waterfront, then I’m sure you will have a great stay at Blue Heaven Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went to Blue Heaven B&B with my 9 year old son and stayed in Sanibel Central. The room has two (very comfortable) twin beds, which was perfect for us. Most B&Bs I looked at don't welcome children, but Jay was very much a kid person and really seemed to enjoy having my child there. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and had plenty to do while we were there. The location is great, with a very pleasant walk to the waterfront. Breakfast was delicious! The house is gorgeous, yet comfortable, and the only negative thing I have to say is that we had to pay an extra $20 because we were staying only one night. I look forward to going back again for a getaway with my husband.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shantravel49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Having only just stumbled across this page, I feel I must add my own glowing, but delayed tribute to this fine establishment's hospitality.
In 2009, my wife and I drove a 15,000-mile lap of the States and dropped into Wilmington on the final leg of our journey before returning to the UK.
We were spellbound by this town, so much so that we still dream of returning there to live, work and raise a family - which is quite a compliment when you consider that we visited many wonderful places across 35 states of the US.
That magical feeling was only enhanced further by charismatic inn keeper Jay, whose warm welcome and great sense of humour was the icing on the cake of a memorable stay in such a quaint, immaculate and comfortable bed and breakfast.
The communal living area, fridge and beers was another big bonus. There was even a copy of Dirty Dancing in the free video selection - so my wife could pay an emotional tribute to Patrick Swayze in our room, who had sadly passed during our visit!
We only planned on staying for two days, but ended up extending that to five, before leaving with very heavy hearts... and bellies, as Jay is one hell of a breakfast maker - always different, never boring.
Please let me know when you are ready to sell up, Jay! But can we keep you on the staff?
Bernie Friend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie38_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#20 of 45 in Wilmington
1,427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#21 of 45 in Wilmington
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.4 mi away
The Verandas
The Verandas
#5 of 18 in Wilmington
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 517 Orange St, Wilmington, NC 28401-4609
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range: $105 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an historic home near the Riverwalk in Wilmington. All rooms are large and light with original interior design. Three rooms have en suite bathrooms; a fourth has a separate private bathroom. A gourmet breakfast is served each morning in the dining room. Blue Heaven is within close walking distance of dining, shopping, and the river. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing