We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I was somewhat pleased with the Hilton there. It was located downtown, and the hotel itself is in a perfect location for downtown, but little did I know there was not too much in the downtown area. About a 20min. drive to/from either Wrightsville/Kure Beach. Not bad but didn't blow my mind. The bed was fantasticly comfortable!!!!!! Slept wonderfully even if we were in a room that overlooked the roof of the lobby :/ Remarkably quiet though. So that did take us for a surprise, but they may want to think about downsizing the furnature- could barely walk around the room.

PAY for parking - It's so much easier than parking in the deck across the street. Safer too if you're heading out/coming back at night.

All in all, not too bad, but not fabulous either.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cemayrho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2010

Thank you for your recent stay and for all the feedback! I am thrilled you had a good rest. We get alot of compliments on the bedding and we love to hear that. We hope you will come back and see us soon! Have a great Holiday Season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

Hotel room had obviously been remodeled, but the bathroom ceiling was still awful over the stool, and the tinting on the large window was cut near the bottom, making the view somewhat less appealing.

Great view of the river - watched fishermen pull up crab traps in the morning while sipping our coffee. It was really relaxing. Enjoyed the view of the river and battleship.

Morning buffet was good - but wish I had known about the made-to-order omelets and eggs BEFORE I had a full plate - would've been much better. The gravy was awful, and eggs cool and rubbery - but servers were right there with coffee and juice refills.
Nine dollars for parking is steep for Wilmington but it was secure, might have been just as secure just 20 feet away on the street. Wilmington's downtown historic district is both safe and a pleasure to explore.
The Hilton puts you where you want to be in reasonable comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifflef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2010

Thank you for your review and comments on our property. I hope you had a great time while you were here.

I appreciate your feedback on breakfast and I will relay the information to the Kitchen so that they can address the issues you had.

We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

During my recent stay, I slipped in the shower. I called the Front Desk to report it and was told 'that happens a lot'. She said she would 'write it up' but made no attempt to apologize or even offer ice. At NO time during my week long stay did anyone follow up with me. Yes, falling was my responsibility but their response bordered on negligient, especially considering they have 'a lot' of people fall in the bathroom / shower. The walls are thin and you can hear everything in other rooms and the halls. A morning walk presented me with food/drinks/trash that had been served outside but not cleaned up and it was still all there mid-morning. Nice location but the staff / management does not seem to give a durn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purduegrad89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2010

I was so disappointed to read your review. I apologize for the reaction to your fall. We do care and attempt to address each and every incident report that happens at the hotel. I will most definitely address this with our staff and appreciate your bringing it to our attention.

We do strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and cared for. We will use this information to make us better at handling these issues and ensuring that information does not fall through the cracks. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to show you what we are truly capable of. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We enjoyed the Hilton and Wilmington in general.
Room was on the small side but had a nice view of the river. Bed was comfortable. Enjoyed the pool. Breakfast at the restaurant was decent. Check in was great. Super nice lady at the front desk.

The hotel is within walking distance of lots of great shops, restaurants and bars on and off the river and 10 minutes drive from the beach or airport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2010

Thank you for your recent stay and positive feedback. We hope to host your stay next time you visit Wilmington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is an older property with (at least where we were) extremely small rooms. If you have a fron room, you overlook a downtown and a parking lot. It is situated with access to a river walk along the Cape Fear River. The beds are creaky and the air conditioning is very loud. The bathroom is also small but does have a makeup mirror - GREAT! The busy (they have a constant flow of clientele) staff is accomodating. There is a fee for parking your car. The hotel breakfast is terrific and the wait staff attentive. Not the best hotel - not the worst hotel - but I definitely wouldn't want to pay top dollar for it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Port333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2010

Thank you for your feedback on our property. I apologize that you were not thrilled with your room. I would appreciate it if you could tell me what room you were in so we can address the air unit and bed issues you had. It is always our goal to provide the best in service and quality. We hope you will return soon so you have an opportunity to experience it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Hilton Riverside met our expectations. The room was comfortable and we slept well every night. As you've seen in the other reviews, the hotel is right on the Cape Fear River and close to major downtown attractions. Valet parking is only $12 a day, a bargain considering that the out door lot is $9 a day. (This was a real convenience given the storms that hit while we were in Wilmington.)

The pool is family friendly and the main restaurant is about you would expect for a larger hotel. There's also a Ruth Chris steak house in the hotel.

We attended a function while we were at the hotel and the food was quite good. In fact, it was a very pleasant surprise.

The staff was attentive and polite. Check-in was a breeze and check-out was even easier.

All in all, this is a hotel we would recommend although we would be sure to mention that this is a "mature, traditional hotel property" not a suite hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ_Traveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Enjoy the Labor Day Holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our room was not ready at check-in time, their excuse was that there was a wedding reception there. The next day, after a day of sight-seeing, our room had not been made up at 6:30 p.m. Very rude front desk clerk said they were very busy. The room was VERY small and we were falling over each other. The only thing going for this hotel is location.Parking for guests is $9, parking across street is $5. Next time, stay at a nice hotel and drive downtown to park and sight-see. Definitely NOT 3 stars as AAA stated--1 star maybe. For $247 per nite, could've stayed 2 nights at a nice hotel. Definitely a rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ja1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGirl, Director of Sales at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2010

I apologize for your recent stay. We do expect that rooms are ready for all of our guests at check in and they are cleaned in a timely manner. When that does not happen we appreciate guests bringing it to our attention. For a guest to leave disappointed, we take it very seriously. I hope you will come back soon to let us show you what we are truly capable of doing, providing the utmost in service and quality. Thank you again, we will use your input to make us better for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#28 of 45 in Wilmington
160 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $142 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing