We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed at another hotel the night before I stayed here that was one block away. That hotel was cheaper and the room was much nicer. The room was a standard king room, "historic" side. Just so you know there's nothing historic about a parking garage directly in front of the hotel. Nice try Hilton. The riverview rooms I'm sure have a better view but there are no balconies.

This room is SMALL!!! The bathroom is one of the smallest bathrooms I've ever been in and the lighting in the bathroom is horrid!!! I mean, it's dim in there. My husband and I couldn't fit in the bathroom at the same time. The shower head was also covered in mildew and that just grosses me out. Other than that it was fine. I would stay here again if the cheaper, bigger, nicer hotel is fully booked but for the most part....why pay more for less?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unctina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area. I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay and will address the issues you experienced with the appropriate staff so we do not have them again. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    411
    318
    166
    82
See reviews for
265
432
42
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This property reminds me of another Hilton that I stayed in recently in Linthicum MD, which also needed an upfit. This hotel is in a great location so a facelift would be to its great benefit. Unfortunately there were too many small and not-so-small things that added up to an experience that was only mediocre. I stayed at the Hilton Riverside for 3 nights on business.

Front desk staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Check-in was quick and uneventful.

Upon arrival the linens were all clean and fresh and the room as a whole appeared to be clean. The beds are comfortable and there is a selection of pillows from which to choose for your sleeping pleasure.

The fitness room is very well appointed. I used a treadmill two nights and although the fitness TV on the TM didn’t work that’s not a big issue for me as I use my iPhone and iTunes during workouts.

Hot water in my room was a serious issue. It took a good five minutes for the bath water to heat to the point of being tolerable on the first night. The next morning it heated pretty quickly but then again each successive night it took quite a while to warm up. There are permanent mold stains on the shower walls. The shower curtain is in need of replacement. It was difficult to tell if the dark slate floors in the bathroom and foyer were clean.

Housekeeping was inconsistent. The bath mat was not changed out one night. The rubber tub mat was left on the floor one night. Dirty glasses and used paper cups were not changed out on two nights.

The room where all of our conference sessions were held was so cold you could hang meat. Seriously, the temperature in the room the second day couldn’t have been above 60 degrees F for the morning sessions. After several complaints from conference attendees, maintenance finally warmed it up a bit in the room. This was a colossal waste of energy.

I went back to my room to watch the first presidential debate to discover my TV didn’t work properly. I was about to call the front desk when I turned it off and back on which corrected the problem for the time being.

The catered meals were so-so, just what you’d expect from hotel food at a business conference. I did not eat at any of the hotel restaurants but there is a Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse embedded with the property.

In general, this property could use a makeover. It’s obviously an older property and Hilton attempts to compensate for it’s lack of maintenance with little touches like hammered silver trays and wastebaskets in the rooms. As I said, it’s in a great location but I’d choose a Hampton Inn not on the waterfront over this property if I were paying for it myself. Speaking of paying, the rates are outrageous considering the age of the hotel. Conference rates were $149/night and this is on the shoulder season. Parking is an additional $6/night. Having to pay for parking at a hotel in a small market like Wilmington is ridiculous.

Stay here if you wish to be on the water and can abide annoying and irritating little issues throughout your stay. Hopefully, as with the Linthicum, MD property, this hotel is due a makeover soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwt1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and your feed back. I was disappointed to hear of the some of the issues you experienced. It is our goal to for everyone have an enjoyable experience and when that does not happen, we do appreciate guests informing us. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate team members and we personally ensure that these are handled.

We do hope that you will return soon, so that you can enjoy a fantastic stay in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for a conference at the nearby Convention Center. The location is good - easy access from 40 and walking distance to Front Street and to the Convention Center. (Although the River Walk doesn't really work in heels!)

The hotel itself was average - it smelled a bit like the seaside/river (ie, damp) and the bathrooms were aged, but everything was very clean. Rooms had good TV, coffee/tea and free wifi. Beds were comfortable.

The front desk team provided good service - very friendly and they even happily changed my room for me when I complained about the noise from the room next door. For that I give them an extra point! I ended up in room 933 - it was quiet, facing the river with a good view of the battleship.

Room Tip: Ask for the 9th floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your conference and I will forward your positive comments to our Front Desk Team.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I wish I could upload more pictures I have 9 total. I have just paid just over two-hundred to stay in a room that is not worth the money. There are several hotels in the area for one hundred. It's late I check in,,,,Get to room door is not latched???? What the...? First pix is of the bathroom. Peeling paint on ceiling throughout bath, peeling wallpaper, unattached tiles, mildew, light out, hair on wall, hair hanging from vent, shower head not attached to wall. In the room the phone doesn't work and across the room the phone jack is ripped from wall and something that looks very soft and fuzzy...is it a pet? it looks so soft. Wait! It a huge dust bunny. Ever dust Hilton?

Room Tip: The elevators are to the right of the counter. Staff didn't even offer to point them out. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and your review.
I apologize you did not have a pleasant stay and I thank you for letting us know. I was disappointed to see the pictures, however it does give us an opportunity to improve.

The condition of your room is not typical for us and when this happens we appreciate guests bringing it to our attention so that we can address it.

We do sincerely hope you will return and give us an opportunity to show you what a great experience we are capable of providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Older structure with convenient location. Friendly service. Great nearby German Cafe had great food and atmosphere. Really should have complementary morning coffee. Fitness room is severely lacking. Price was a bit high for quality. Bathroom needs renovation, public restrooms near conference rooms were very small and inconveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol52blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are glad you got to visit us for your conference. We are very proud of our location and staff and we are glad you got to enjoy both.

I would be curious to hear what you felt was lacking in the fitness center- was there a specific piece of equipment you felt we should have? We have a state of the art 24 hour pre-cor fitness center featuring the best equipment. I am always open to suggestions on how to make it better for our customers.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Wilmington, NC has a serious deficiency when it comes to desireable hotels in great locations. At one time, the Hilton Riverside was the gem in the crown of Wilmington hospitality. It has been 9 years since I last stayed at this property and in that time the old girl has aged badly.
ROOMS: old, particularly the bathrooms. The furniture has been updated but the bathrooms are a wreck. Old tubs, old toilets, grungy shower curtains (another guest's hair stuck to it), stained grout, and frighteningly bad lighting. Hallways have clearly been painted in trendy green colors but with the low ceilings and bad lighting it simply looks institutional. Beds comfy- until I found a stain on my last morning along with a mysterious hair (not mine) on the duvet. Room was pretty small with thin walls- but hey, I could clearly hear the guy next to me screaming at the tv while rooting for his favorite sports team so that was pleasant while trying to sleep.

FOOD: thank goodness for the miracle of Ruth's Chris. It saves this hotel. The food there is, like all Ruth's Chris restaurants, fabulous. Expect it to be pricey- my dinner alone night one was $93 with tip and night two with only wine, oysters, and lobster bisque was $44. I'm a foodie, so it was worth it to me. The other restaurant, Innovations, had an 88 sanitation rating so sorry, not about to go there.

COMMON AREAS: cold. Turn down the air conditioning. I heard 7 people complaining how cold common areas and meeting rooms are kept.
I entered the hotel from the lower right lot through a side door leading to a stairwell- there was a cup of tea or coffee sitting inside the door that was so old mold was growing on the surface of the liquid. Nice. Weird, loud music in elevator. Lame, poorly stocked gift shop. Pool area was visited by several palmetto bugs (aka roaches) around sunset. My friend who was visiting this hotel with me this weekend lives in Savannah where these bugs flourish and even she stated that it was clear they didn't spray adequately to deter these annoying bugs.

SERVICE: nothing to write home about. Front desk wasn't overly welcoming and didn't ask if I could use bellman service so I assumed there wasn't any; as such, I struggled with my own heavy bags. Generally average service with the exception of the awesome service at Ruth's Chris. Other hotel staff was unable to keep hot water for tea or hot coffee freshly replenished in conference rooms. Nothing worse than cold coffee and tea.

Overall: Sad. The location is great but I can't imagine voluntarily staying here again. Too run down with lackluster service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GirlOnAGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent business. I was disappointed to hear you did not have an exceptional experience during your stay. We strive to provide the best stay for all of our guests and when that doesn't happen we appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

I will forward your comments to the appropriate departments and will personally ensure these issues are remedied immediately.

I do hope you will return to give us the opportunity to provide you with a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice Hilton property; friendly service and great location. River view rooms are worth it; opened the window blinds and found myself looking directly across the river at the retired battleship USS North Carolina! Late afternoon enjoyed the sunset reflection on the river. Short walks along the boardwalk to numerous restaurants. Ruth's Chris steakhouse located on the hotel property as well. Very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_L639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and recent stay. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed yourself. It is true the sunsets are breathtaking over the Cape Fear River. Hopefully you will return soon to see another one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#30 of 44 in Wilmington
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Downtown
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Property: Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing