We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service but average amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good service but average amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for two nights for a conference at the nearby Convention Center. The location is good - easy access from 40 and walking distance to Front Street and to the Convention Center. (Although the River Walk doesn't really work in heels!)

The hotel itself was average - it smelled a bit like the seaside/river (ie, damp) and the bathrooms were aged, but everything was very clean. Rooms had good TV, coffee/tea and free wifi. Beds were comfortable.

The front desk team provided good service - very friendly and they even happily changed my room for me when I complained about the noise from the room next door. For that I give them an extra point! I ended up in room 933 - it was quiet, facing the river with a good view of the battleship.

Room Tip: Ask for the 9th floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your conference and I will forward your positive comments to our Front Desk Team.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    384
    294
    155
    76
See reviews for
244
407
39
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I wish I could upload more pictures I have 9 total. I have just paid just over two-hundred to stay in a room that is not worth the money. There are several hotels in the area for one hundred. It's late I check in,,,,Get to room door is not latched???? What the...? First pix is of the bathroom. Peeling paint on ceiling throughout bath, peeling wallpaper, unattached tiles, mildew, light out, hair on wall, hair hanging from vent, shower head not attached to wall. In the room the phone doesn't work and across the room the phone jack is ripped from wall and something that looks very soft and fuzzy...is it a pet? it looks so soft. Wait! It a huge dust bunny. Ever dust Hilton?

Room Tip: The elevators are to the right of the counter. Staff didn't even offer to point them out. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and your review.
I apologize you did not have a pleasant stay and I thank you for letting us know. I was disappointed to see the pictures, however it does give us an opportunity to improve.

The condition of your room is not typical for us and when this happens we appreciate guests bringing it to our attention so that we can address it.

We do sincerely hope you will return and give us an opportunity to show you what a great experience we are capable of providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Older structure with convenient location. Friendly service. Great nearby German Cafe had great food and atmosphere. Really should have complementary morning coffee. Fitness room is severely lacking. Price was a bit high for quality. Bathroom needs renovation, public restrooms near conference rooms were very small and inconveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol52blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are glad you got to visit us for your conference. We are very proud of our location and staff and we are glad you got to enjoy both.

I would be curious to hear what you felt was lacking in the fitness center- was there a specific piece of equipment you felt we should have? We have a state of the art 24 hour pre-cor fitness center featuring the best equipment. I am always open to suggestions on how to make it better for our customers.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Wilmington, NC has a serious deficiency when it comes to desireable hotels in great locations. At one time, the Hilton Riverside was the gem in the crown of Wilmington hospitality. It has been 9 years since I last stayed at this property and in that time the old girl has aged badly.
ROOMS: old, particularly the bathrooms. The furniture has been updated but the bathrooms are a wreck. Old tubs, old toilets, grungy shower curtains (another guest's hair stuck to it), stained grout, and frighteningly bad lighting. Hallways have clearly been painted in trendy green colors but with the low ceilings and bad lighting it simply looks institutional. Beds comfy- until I found a stain on my last morning along with a mysterious hair (not mine) on the duvet. Room was pretty small with thin walls- but hey, I could clearly hear the guy next to me screaming at the tv while rooting for his favorite sports team so that was pleasant while trying to sleep.

FOOD: thank goodness for the miracle of Ruth's Chris. It saves this hotel. The food there is, like all Ruth's Chris restaurants, fabulous. Expect it to be pricey- my dinner alone night one was $93 with tip and night two with only wine, oysters, and lobster bisque was $44. I'm a foodie, so it was worth it to me. The other restaurant, Innovations, had an 88 sanitation rating so sorry, not about to go there.

COMMON AREAS: cold. Turn down the air conditioning. I heard 7 people complaining how cold common areas and meeting rooms are kept.
I entered the hotel from the lower right lot through a side door leading to a stairwell- there was a cup of tea or coffee sitting inside the door that was so old mold was growing on the surface of the liquid. Nice. Weird, loud music in elevator. Lame, poorly stocked gift shop. Pool area was visited by several palmetto bugs (aka roaches) around sunset. My friend who was visiting this hotel with me this weekend lives in Savannah where these bugs flourish and even she stated that it was clear they didn't spray adequately to deter these annoying bugs.

SERVICE: nothing to write home about. Front desk wasn't overly welcoming and didn't ask if I could use bellman service so I assumed there wasn't any; as such, I struggled with my own heavy bags. Generally average service with the exception of the awesome service at Ruth's Chris. Other hotel staff was unable to keep hot water for tea or hot coffee freshly replenished in conference rooms. Nothing worse than cold coffee and tea.

Overall: Sad. The location is great but I can't imagine voluntarily staying here again. Too run down with lackluster service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GirlOnAGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent business. I was disappointed to hear you did not have an exceptional experience during your stay. We strive to provide the best stay for all of our guests and when that doesn't happen we appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

I will forward your comments to the appropriate departments and will personally ensure these issues are remedied immediately.

I do hope you will return to give us the opportunity to provide you with a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Nice Hilton property; friendly service and great location. River view rooms are worth it; opened the window blinds and found myself looking directly across the river at the retired battleship USS North Carolina! Late afternoon enjoyed the sunset reflection on the river. Short walks along the boardwalk to numerous restaurants. Ruth's Chris steakhouse located on the hotel property as well. Very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_L639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review and recent stay. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed yourself. It is true the sunsets are breathtaking over the Cape Fear River. Hopefully you will return soon to see another one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Try to get an upper level room for best views of the river. You'll enjoy the river walk and nearby restaurants, but bring the wallet. Eating at the hotel is expensive and breakfast is not free.
Location for exploring downtown is very good. Parking at the hotel will cost you and it's also not very convenient if you need to go back and forth to your car.

Room Tip: upper floors on river side have best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0Pirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay. We are lucky enough to boast a fantastic location and are centrally located to many shops, restaurants and historic landmarks. We hope you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Wilmington, NC is a great city to visit if you are interested in Confederate history. Its riverside area and historic downtown have been beautifully restored. There are several lovely Inns that offer more of an intimate flavor of the city than a big, corporate Hilton. But if you prefer big box hotels, or are traveling with children, the Hilton is a good place to stay. It is well located in the popular riverside area, is clean, modern, and has all the amenties of a big and impersonal. hotel.

Room Tip: ask for river front view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giselle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonHiltonGM, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington Riverside, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and positive review. We agree that Wilmington is rich in history and a wonderful place to visit with family. We are lucky enough to boast a fantastic location in the heart of it all. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
6.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
7.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
4.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Wilmington Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington Riverside

Property: Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Address: 301 N Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401-3934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service waterfront hotel in historic Wilmington, NC. The Hilton Wilmington Riverside is located in the heart of downtown only footsteps from tons of shopping, dining and sightseeing. We feature dining in Innovations Restaurant or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse (on site), Currents Coffee & Gift Shop (featuring Starbucks products),24 hour fitness & business center, outdoor pool and sprawling views of the Cape Fear or Historic Downtown from our rooms. We are the proud sponsors of North Carolina Azalea Festival, North Carolina Jazz Festival and Riverfest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Wilmington Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington Riverside Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing