We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie du Soleil

Brasserie du Soleil
Ranked #53 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Be sure to set time aside(recommend resevations) for an epicurial experience you will not regret. I'ts one of those places where they know how to get right. Here, the customer is always right and you are treated with respect. I reccommend highly without reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    57
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best high end restaurant in New Hanover county”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is certainly the best of the high end restaurants in the area. The location is kind of discreet and from the outside it is hard to figure out what its going to be like. On the weekends, year round expect it to be busy. As you walk in you will notice a display case on the right featuring the freshest local oysters and clams plus some varieties shipped from Canada and elsewhere. The chef is very particular about freshness and likes to use local and organic ingredients. As you pass the bar area where the display case is you enter the main dining room area. It is a formal french dining atmosphere with white table clothes and well set tables. The waiters and waitresses are always knowledgeable and friendly. On weekends it does get a little load and clanky but not in an annoying way but kind of like chatter of lots of people enjoying good food and good times. I haven't tried everything on the menu, but in dining there say 15 -20 times I have never had a bad or even mediocre meal. The food is fantastic, fresh, and vibrant. My recommendations are the local oysters on the half shell and the steak au poive. But some of the specials I have had here were amazing. The menu is french with the local twist and the chef is incredibly consistent. I would recommend to those who are looking to have a great eating experience and would caution that it is a high end restaurant with really good food so while this is the place to splurge, the food is worth every cent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rooftop78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tres Bien!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The ladies all had fish, my friend had mussels and I enjoyed the veal, which compared vey well with the Schnitzel on a recent visit to Berlin. We dined alfresco ( or whatever they say in France) and the French Fries were the best ever ! A bottle of Malbec went down well, so USA, French and Argentinian.....pourquois pas?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvander72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Seafood just over the Drawbridge at Wrightsville Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent meal at Brasserie du Soleil last Friday night. My wife & I both had seafood dishes. I had the sauteed flounder with capers and lemon - excellent - and she had the boullibase with fish, shrimp, mussels, clams and calamari - also excellent! This was all enjoyed with a nice bottle of my favorite French wine - Guigal Cote du Rhone. What a treat! Highly recommend Brasserie du Soleil for a nice meal for two or for a family. The restaurant is your classic French bistro with black & white tile floor, wood paneling and lot's of mirrors. It's lively and loud, especially at night and some of the best wait staff in Wilmington. Service was excellent! Bon appetit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCTravelForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of wilmington's better restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lunch here is a very relaxing affair with both service and food being enjoyable. You can build your own salad or choose from some interesting selections on the menu. The service is friendly and the food is well prepared and presented. While the wine list is small there is a reasonably select. The outside seating is comfortable in a true café style. Certainly on of the top restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie du Soleil also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Brasserie du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing