We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly staff, good base for seeing the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly staff, good base for seeing the area.”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on a road trip through the Carolinas. We found this hotel to have everything we needed at a good price. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as we were on road trip we needed advice on where to go next and gave us good advice on what to do.
The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The room came with a king size bed which is always a bonus.
The breakfast contained hot and cold items which is a nice touch and set you up for the day.
The only draw back is the location, it is slightly out of the way, unfortunately there are no walkable restaurants or shops that are notable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    131
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
217
113
38
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have frequently stayed at Hampton Inns throughout the United States and obviously are satisfied with their accommodations. However, this hotel's service deserves the very highest marks and is a credit to their management and their staff. The greeting by Antoinette could not have been friendlier or efficient. The reception was a nice surprise and kudos to the host who immediately responded to my spilling a beverage and completely took charge of the problem. A special thanks to Ms. Samantha who listened to an issue I had with my automobile, discussed it with her management without my knowledge, and came back with a wonderful cure that saved us money and worries.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BmattIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We have stayed at this Hampton 2 times on our visits to UNW Wilmington. I just booked it again for October when we will be at the University for parents weekend. Last time we came to Wilm, I waited too late and it was booked! We had to stay at another local hotel and were SO missing "our" Hampton! It is very close to the campus, and SO close to an abundance of restaurants and shopping. 10 minutes to the beach. 10 minutes to downtown. Continental breakfast was just perfect for us! The rooms are very clean!!!!!! Beds are SUPER comfortable!! Didnt use the pool or fitness center, but plan to in the future. Great rate....we received a college discount!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj1smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Wonderful staff - they even let us check in two hours early. Room was spotless - bathroom was huge. Just a nice place with friendly courteous staff. Worth the extra money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kann626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

I first stayed at this hotel because of the location, it was close to my customer base in the Wilmington area. After a couple stays, I was hooked. Right away the staff was kind, friendly and very down to earth. they always seemed to know how to go above and beyond in every instance. This is a newer hotel in the area so everything is plush from the Cloud 9 bedding to the flat screens TVs. For a business traveler this will continue to be my hotel of choice when in the area. Many thanks to the Heidi Ray and the team at this location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNAPPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamestown, nc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and spacious room. Nice location. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others. Our grandkids enjoyed the pool. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesHerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

When you combine both customer service and cleanliness you get the Hampton Inn at the College. Short drive to Wrightsville beach, shopping and restaurants! Just a great place to stay a night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcriscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Property: Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing