We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Was visiting family in Wilmington. The staff was very friendly throughout. Breakfast was pretty decent -- eggs, biscuits and gravy one day; another day was french toast, sausage, and eggs, etc. It was a different variety every day. Excellent coffee. The room (which was 2 beds and a desk area) was pretty spacious and comfortable. I loved the bathroom. The sink area was also used to hold the towels, which I think is a great space saver idea. Some days I told housekeeping to just provide us towels and don't worry about cleaning the room since we were late leaving the room. To our pleasant surprise, the room was still cleaned. The room's only setback was that the beds looked more like doubles than queens. There is also an outdoor pool which we did not use since it was chilly. The hotel also had an impressive fitness center. Plenty of ellipticalls, treadmills, and bikes, and also some hand weights. I had once stayed at an Embassy Suites whose fitness room was nowhere near this nice.

We were only minutes from the beach and downtown. We had fun at both. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarobi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 615 of 615 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2009

Since this Hampton Inn opened I have preferred to stay here. The main reason is that it is located off of the main road and there is NO traffic noise, etc. The hotel is extremely well maintained. I just had a group of 15 colleagues attend training in wilmington and this is the hotel we chose. Everyone in the group was extremely pleased with the hotel and the rooms. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeggoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Our office used the Hampton Inn University as the primary hotel for a local meeting/conference. We have used many hotels in the Wilmington area for other events and this one was a wonderful choice that we plan to utilize many more times. Many of the attendees travel regularly as a function of their jobs and they were VERY pleased. They commented multiple times during their 2-3 day stay(s) on the great service, the brand new facilities, the location, the ease of dealing with the staff and most importantly the good value!! Whether traveling alone to Wilmington or coming as a group this property is the ideal location as it is both close to the beach and the UNCW campus, along with dining and shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConferencePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank とよさんせんぷー
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipFlops78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $97 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing