We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, consistent Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great location whether you need to get to the airport, downtown, malls or the beach. Clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast attendant does an excellent job keeping up with demand and there is plenty of seating.
I appreciate the parking for Hilton Diamond members.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCKJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 636 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hampton Inn while in Wilmington for my kids’ sports competition. The hotel was on the list where a negotiated rate was given for people involved in the sporting event is how we picked it. First off location is great! You are not far from downtown Wilmington and the waterfront, it is a short, easy drive to Wrightsville Beach and the hotel is right next to shopping and dining options which is very convenient. The room was large and clean with plenty of room for all our stuff (2 adults, 2 kids). The beds were comfortable and sheets and duvet cover were clean and fresh smelling. Pillows were those small goose down ones that I don’t care for (I am a pillow snob!) but there were plenty of them. (I brought my own pillow.) Bathroom was very nice and very clean with lots of counter space and towels. Hotel served a good hot breakfast with lots of options and has a sitting room if you just need to get out of the room for a bit. Didn’t use the pool or the gym but checked them both out. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful! We actually talked about heading back to Wilmington again for a weekend just to enjoy the beach and would absolutely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HattieMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here again for a visit with family and have stayed here multiple times over the last few years.

The hotel and staff meet all my expectations. The checkin staff was pleasant , the room was clean and nice .There was always fresh coffee available and the breakfast was hot and fresh.

The location is convenient for a quick trip to Wrightsville Beach and close to family .

We would stay here again with no qualms .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w8n4simplertimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

In my opinion, you can't go wrong with Hampton Inns and this one was no exception. Our room was clean, the beds were comfy, free breakfast was delicious (lots of variety), free wifi, and tons of free parking. It's about 10-15 minutes from the downtown historic district, but there is tons to do in this area of town. Lots of shopping and restaurants. Staff was very friendly and willing to help, free coffee and tea all day + a to-go breakfast for those who want to get an early or fast start to the day. Our room was near the elevators and we heard no noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station offers a great location for exploring Wilmington, visiting UNC Wilmington or driving to Wrightsville Beach. Check-in was quick and efficient, the room was clean, and all of the staff members we encountered were friendly. The complimentary breakfast had a good selection. There are lots of shopping opportunities and restaurants nearby as well. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff8897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel staff was very nice and polite and friendly. The breakfast in the morning was always very good. Our room was cleaned well and had no problems during our stay. Loved the free coffee and cookies !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This stay was wonderful! The check-in was quick and staff were friendly. My room was clean, spacious, and quiet. The complimentary brakfast was delicious and had a great variety to choose from I would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing