We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town for college tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Friendly staff, clean rooms, decent breakfast. Hotel has a (very popular) coin-op laundry facility on the 2nd floor. Good location and easy to get around Wilmington and surrounding areas. Beach and downtown are 15 mins away, campus is 5 mins away. Breakfast had good choices. Excellent Hampton, and far superior to most other chains.

Room Tip: Avoid north end of 2nd floor --- laundry facilities are busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyAtHeartNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 616 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while in town for a baseball tournament. The rooms were quite comfortable and updated and we all splept well in the beds. They have a pretty good breakfast spread in the morning which included fruit, bagels, pastries, cereal, yogurt, a waffle maker, oatmeal and several rotating hot items (scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits w/ sausage gravy, hash browns, etc). There is a good sized eating area with several tv's. The workout room isn't large, but was nice. There is a nice sized patio area out back with tables and chairs. The pool and pool seating area isn't very large. We drove to Wrightsville beach twice during our stay and I'd estimate it at a 15 minute drive, not bad at all. There are a few restaurants (Buffalo Wild Wings, Japanese Steakhouse, Texas Roadhouse) within walking, as well as some shopping - there's a Kohl's and a few other stores in the shopping center nextdoor. Staff was friendly and helpful in giving directions and making dining recommendations. Overall, a very good lodging experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_ACharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

You pay a bit more at Hampton so you naturally expect a bit more than other chain motels that are lower in cost. On this trip we used several lower cost motels that were superior to this Hampton Inn.

Check-in was okay, but staff not very friendly. A manager's reception was underway and we attended. Not very impressive. They were about 50 minutes into the two-hour reception where we got a free bottle of beer and a free very small plastic cup of wine. Much of the food was already gone. We got the last four meatballs. And waited for more. And waited and watched other guests come and go for more than 20 minutes before more food came. I don't expect a reception when I check into a hotel, but if you are going to have one why skimp?

On the good side, room furnishings were nice. Front desk called an hour or two after arrival to see if we needed anything. Bed was excellent with many fluffy pillows, Wi-fi in room worked well. Buffet breakfast was good; I especially liked the bagel toppers. A personable, friendly attendant was always there to refill and replenish. More than that, she used any free time to assist guests.

On the downside: Clock did not illuminate! Had to use iphone to see time when room was dark. No night light in bathroom! Shower inconsistent. Wife had to keep adjusting temp up.Later I found myself constantly adjusting temp down.Shower head mounted high so hard to reach controls. No matter - controls didn't work anyway. Unfortunately it was stuck in solid stream mode and kept shifting between 3 outlets. Not a nice shower. Bathroom sink is mounted high and also has a curve to the front that pushes into your tummy unless you are tall.. I am 5' 7" and had to stand on tip toes to use it. Toilet paper spare roll is tucked behind the in-use roll. The dumb thing is that when both rolls are full the in-use roll won't turn. We had to remove the the in-use roll from the holder.

The hotel book lists restaurants, but it seems like those listed pay for the listing and you need to drive to them. There are many restaurants within walking distance that aren't listed, and you can't see them as the hotel faces the back side of a mall. Within a short walk we found a Buffalo Wings Bar & Grill; Japanese Steak and Sushi; Texas Roadhouse Steakhouse; A Pizza shop and a wonderful coffee shop (Port City Java) that was similar to Starbucks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipper300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very nice accommodations and staff. The bed was sooooo comfortable and welcomed after a long trip. This hotel is between the historic district and Wrightville Beach. Easy to get to either one from there. Breakfast was decent; fruit, cereal, hard boiled eggs, waffles, etc. and there were cookies upon our arrival. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clean sheets, great service, and modern rooms. Always great.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pgaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have stayed here several times when in town on business. The hotel and staff are great.
It is a convenient location for visiting the beaches and attractions. There are 4 restaurants within walking distance and more less than a mile away.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Good room, clean and comfortable. Helpful staff. Guest laundry - big plus on long journey - thank you! But please Hampton Inns STOP putting your coffee making equipment in the bathroom/toilet. Most unhygienic! There is plenty of room on the desking in the bedroom.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynnpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $95 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing