We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First fondue experience - not impressed”
Review of Little Dipper

Little Dipper
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Dipper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 673 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First fondue experience - not impressed”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Made reservations online and specifically said we wanted to sit outside so we could listen to the live music. When we arrived we were seated inside with no explanation. We asked to be moved and were told you cannot cook outside. Waitress was very knowledgable about the menu and helped us make our choices. While the experience was fun to try once it was just not for us. The food was fresh and good but for the money we would rather have someone else cook our meal and have it served to the table ready to eat. A random server stopped at out table to make things more "presentable" because I guess the guy that brought our food didn't do it right. Our waitress did serve us a complimentary piece of cheesecake for our anniversary which was a nice touch. After dinner we went outside to listen to the music but the wedding next door was loud and the band had quit playing. Glad we tried it but we won't go back...just not what we like.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSMOM353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    50
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lots of good, interesting food”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I visited Little Dipper tonight, my first meal at a fondue restaurant. As a rookie I needed some help ordering and knowing how to dip, cook and eat the multi-course meal ( cheese, salad, entree, and desert. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I found the food to be very tasty, a little pricey but worth it. I heartily recommend the Little Dipper to Wilmington residents.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank World H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Chocolate Fondue”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The atmosphere was nice, the staff were very friendly. The fondue was great, the dipper (we had the regular) left a little to be desired and seemed slightly stale. The drinks we good though and we had a great time

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelrncdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you love fondue you'll love the Little Dipper. The service was really good and the ambiance was great for groups or couples. Definitely a gem in Wlimington for foodies!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dynamitetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun, delicious and unique!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

On vacation we usually look for different experiences in dining than our usual fare at home. Little Dipper certainly filled that criteria! Our wonderful waiter walked us through every step & didn't ask us to make decisions until after we had finished the previous course. He took his time with us and recommended sauces to complement our meat choices. The cheddar ale was rich and flavorful, the corn & bourbon chowder was just right spicy, the blue cheese dressing was absolutely the best I have ever eaten, the merlot and special broth enhanced the meat selections perfectly, and the turtle chocolate was to die for! We wanted to lick out the bowl with the chocolate! The only thing I wasn't as crazy about were the marshmallows dipped into the chocolate. It was too sweet. The pop of flavor with the fruit, pretzels and mini cream puffs was so delectable, it was hard to stop eating! We rolled out of there after a fantastic experience. We got a special deal for $25 per person for 4 courses. Well worth it! I would recommend calling for reservations. We arrived early without reservations and sat at a bar table by the window that was just fine, but others arriving later did not have as nice a table.

Helpful?
Thank NanaNancy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Dipper also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Little Dipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing