We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Chocolate Fondue”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Dipper

Little Dipper
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Dipper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 668 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Chocolate Fondue”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The atmosphere was nice, the staff were very friendly. The fondue was great, the dipper (we had the regular) left a little to be desired and seemed slightly stale. The drinks we good though and we had a great time

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelrncdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    49
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you love fondue you'll love the Little Dipper. The service was really good and the ambiance was great for groups or couples. Definitely a gem in Wlimington for foodies!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dynamitetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun, delicious and unique!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

On vacation we usually look for different experiences in dining than our usual fare at home. Little Dipper certainly filled that criteria! Our wonderful waiter walked us through every step & didn't ask us to make decisions until after we had finished the previous course. He took his time with us and recommended sauces to complement our meat choices. The cheddar ale was rich and flavorful, the corn & bourbon chowder was just right spicy, the blue cheese dressing was absolutely the best I have ever eaten, the merlot and special broth enhanced the meat selections perfectly, and the turtle chocolate was to die for! We wanted to lick out the bowl with the chocolate! The only thing I wasn't as crazy about were the marshmallows dipped into the chocolate. It was too sweet. The pop of flavor with the fruit, pretzels and mini cream puffs was so delectable, it was hard to stop eating! We rolled out of there after a fantastic experience. We got a special deal for $25 per person for 4 courses. Well worth it! I would recommend calling for reservations. We arrived early without reservations and sat at a bar table by the window that was just fine, but others arriving later did not have as nice a table.

Helpful?
Thank NanaNancy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Enjoyed every minute of our dinner.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Some friends and I wanted to do something different for my birthday. We have never eaten at a fondue restaurant before. We were so impressed from the minute we walked in till we walked out. We had a great time and enjoyed our meal. Our waiter William was great best waiter we have had in a long time. We will be going back to The Little Dipper for many occasions to come.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank basweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tuesday Night - Couples Night!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We headed into Little Dipper on a Tuesday night thinking we were going for the "Groovy 70's Menu" only to find they have switched into a "Couple's Night" instead. Aside from their website not being updated, this turned out to be quite the treat!

Similar to other "franchised" fondue places, Little Dipper is quite unique in that it offers a variety of broths, cheeses and oils to cook their accompanying food so well. We were treated to a 3 course meal of Cheese (Asiago), Filet, Chicken, & Ravioli, finishing with a splendid assortment of fruits, marshmallows and other dippable delights.

The Couples menu was also paired with wine throughout allowing the diners to get a taste for some wine throughout the meal. A great addition that was quite welcomed!

All in all, my first experience was fantastic for the Little Dipper. I will certainly recommend it and look to attend on of their many other special evenings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJ_Seahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Dipper also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Little Dipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing