We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
Review of Boca Bay

Boca Bay
Ranked #35 of 673 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver
Level Contributor
177 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It used to be my favourite date restaurant when I lived there. But now when I visit, I like to go for their Sunday brunch, there is a good selection of dishes to choose from and everything is very fresh. Last time I took my friends from France and they loved it too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Najebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    69
    36
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hours”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We go all the time for Happy Hour very good quality food at a great price. Lisa the bartender has an excellent memory for what you like. Great Atmosphere! Very upscale busy place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smsAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
171 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Awesome Brunch!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The brunch buffet was a amazing! Bacon, sausage, potatoes, grits, bagels, eggs Benedict, biscuits and gravy, pasta, chicken, pastries galore, waffles, crepes, fruit, omelets, etc. The coffee was hot and delicious and in a large enough mug. Service was informative and friendly. Good ambiance. The only thing I would critique would be the lack of seafood. Famous for seafood, I would expect to have some shrimp (cocktail perhaps?) on the brunch buffet instead of baked chicken. Some non-Benedict eggs would have been nice too. The price was reasonable compared to other buffets in town for the quality of dining experience at Boca Bay. The food was SO much better than other buffets. The parking lot is tiny but they have a valet (that we did not use). I would recommend for locals or visitors!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KindredSpirit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Good Choice for Seafood in Wilmington”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Boca Bay is one of many choices in Wilmington for seafood, and while it doesn't have the waterfront dining of other first-class places, it does have an interesting menu and good food, combined with good service and appealing decor.

One of the choices for dinner is a daily $25 Prix Fixe menu, consisting of a salad, one of five or six entrees such as salmon or shrimp and grits, followed by dessert and coffee.

One thing Boca Bay doesn' t have is lots of self-parking spaces; but, the valet service is free, so it's no big thing.

We enjoyed the food and the service and we'll be back the next time we're in Wilmington.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed with service.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We haven't been to Boca Bay since they updated their menu two years ago. They have a nice outdoor seating area which we really like after the beach. We decided to give it a try on a recent Sunday evening. The menu was great with a nice selection of small plates, some sushi and even a diverse price fixed menu. All of the food we had was delicious and served hot.

The service however was seriously lacking. It just wasn't on point. It was slow to get cocktails when we were first seated, then there was no follow up when the meal came, my husband had to get up to get sugar for his coffee before it got cold because there was none on the table and there were no servers within earshot and our dessert came 15 minutes after the coffee. If the foods good but the service isn't, that's just not a win for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ptarr1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boca Bay also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Boca Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing