We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food fair, service horrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kornerstone Bistro

Kornerstone Bistro
Ranked #120 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Neighborhood Italian and Mediterranean Fare with Brick Oven Pizza, Outdoor Seating, Full Wine List and Sunday Buffet Brunch.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food fair, service horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We went for a mid-week dinner. The place was not very busy. We waited for our server a few minutes and it went downhill from there. We asked for water with no lemon, got lemon in the water. She took our orders and then vanished. After waiting at least 15-20 minutes just for our salad, she came by and asked if we were doing alright. Are you kidding me? We had nothing but water! She didn't bring any bread, nor did she ask if we wanted any. Our salad was very good. Our entrees were ok. I had the risotto with chicken and spinach. It was a bit thick and pasty. My daughter had tuna and although she said it was cooked ok, it looked more rare than medium as she had asked for.
Again our server disappeared. The next table went so far as to get up and look for her! We were not happy with the level of service at all. For the price we paid for our dinner, I doubt we will go back. That server needs some training!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ivyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    26
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great local/neighborhood restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a well-above-average neighborhood restaurant. There is plenty of off street, free parking. The restaurant is very good and has a varied menu. I have eaten at Kornerstone Bistro a # of times. It is excellent, provides large portions & has great service. The only small negative is that they are more expensive then other neighborhood restaurants. But, in many ways, you get what you pay for. This is a well above average restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
285 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Time at Low Key Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stu and I finished this restaurant for lunch last Friday (12/20). We both had pizzas but of two different varieties. Service was good from Clayton who was our server. Unassuming restaurant that was quiet and not too busy for the lunch crowd.

Would return if in the neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
261 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Awful service & tasteless food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Really an awful experience! Poor service w/ awful food. The "specials" had zero flavor! The service was horrible - far too long for drinks, adolescent children's food brought with starters & a clueless staff. Avoid completely unless it is drinks @ the bar.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bravo to the chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Food here is great! Everything I have ordered has been outstanding for a strip mall restaurant. I suppose their location at the entrance to Figure 8 Island helps. Nice to have a restaurant like this located "between" major attractions in Wilmington! Keep up the great work!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kornerstone Bistro also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Kornerstone Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing