We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More History than Science.”
Review of Cape Fear Museum

Cape Fear Museum
Ranked #12 of 114 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exploring the history, science and cultures of the Lower Cape Fear region. Founded in 1898. Closed Mondays September - May.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Gastonia, NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More History than Science.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Took two 12 yo boys to the museum today. Both really like science and the museum was billed as 'History and Science' it was about 80% History. That being said we were there several hours. Some highlights were the sloth skeleton, the possum in the garbage can (scared mom to death) LOL, The juke box, The phone booth, trying on the army jacket, the juke-box, The play area of blocks in front of the gift shop. I honestly thought the boys were too old for this...they loved it. The adults in the party appreciated the historical exhibits and dioramas. Overall a nice morning spent at the museum. Also the woman working the front desk was very friendly, helpful, and informative!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyofThreeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    64
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very well done!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just visited this afternoon as a chaperone for my kid's class visit. I couldn't believe how much it has changed since my last visit. Very interactive for the kids and really good exhibits about the history of the Cape Fear and it's people.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GuyCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting if you like to read a lot”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

You get a tour map and are sent to read the exhibits along the walls. If you get lost there are employees to help get you back on track. Good staff, but the exhibits have long explanations. Small children would not like this. It is interesting for those willing to take the time to read the exhibits.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Lejeune, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“great afternoon of fun learning”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Own pace; informative and interesting information about the history of the area. Made me appreciate the rich history of the area.

Helpful?
Thank fmo3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place for All Ages”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wonderful, entertaining and informative. Many "hands-on" displays that are fun for children. In fact, the museum is very "child-friendly." We live in Wilmington so we have become members. There is so much to see and do that you either need to allow at least a couple of hours or make repeat visits.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mstein2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Fear Museum also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cape Fear Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing