We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small town beach musuem”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Fear Museum

Cape Fear Museum
Ranked #11 of 109 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exploring the history, science and cultures of the Lower Cape Fear region. Founded in 1898. Closed Mondays September - May.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small town beach musuem”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Small museum, nothing really exciting. We happened to go when there was a seashell show, which was an interesting activity.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank emjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    64
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great insight into area history”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Lot more than I expected and we actually didn't get to make it all the way through. We went during the pirate exhibit which was mostly geared toward children, but had enough the adults could enjoy. The rest of the exhibits were quite interesting as well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Wonderful museum, plan to spend alot of time and take your camera. Perfect hot or rainy afternoon spot.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LB52012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Lookout, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best in town”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

very imaginative and offbeat exhibitions and i have enjoyed them all.also many activities for kid,regular astronomy shows,and lectures etc etc. my whole family enjoys going

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ddylan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lots to see and learn”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

They always change the displays so there is something new. The scale model is really cool.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank bmcfeeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Fear Museum also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cape Fear Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing