We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indochine

Indochine
Ranked #6 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The best of everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great restaurant experience! Family of four adults on a Saturday night. The parking lot was full but we were seated in less than 20 minutes. Our server was great! Attentive and smiled all night. The food was incredible! We had various entrees with beef,chicken, & seafood at varying degrees of "heat." All were cooked and seasoned to perfection! The atmosphere is great! The outdoor gardens are beautiful. We are going back in the warmer months to sit outside in one of the "huts."
And to top it off all off, the price was better than reasonable! Definitely will return over and over.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    216
    66
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Visit Wilmington occasionally. Had heard great things about Indochine. Tried visiting twice in 2012 but was closed both times we stopped by. Visited again for lunch December 2013. Food was excellent! I can't remember name but I had rice noodle dish with beef. Excellent! Others with me had pad Thai noodles, duck curry. All were excellent. Decor was very nice. Lots of custom painted murals and decor throughout restaurant. Only disappointment was that the custom painted tables had grown sticky. Probably because they are harder to clean throughly without ruining the paint job.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Corning123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic, spectacular, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Genuine indochinese cuisine with good service at very reasonable prices. The cuisine, the service and the atmosphere are superlative. I'll go back again, again and again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New year's Day Thai Food for a change!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

After all the traditional food we had been eating for the last 10 days and because our propane gas at the house ran out, we decided to go to Indochine. A regular haunt of our hosts we expected it to be good and following their advice we turned up when it opened at 5 pm on New Years Day. It is a busy, buzzing place, larger than the usual Thai restaurant but crammed with Asian artifacts, sculptures and decorations in more abundance than is usually found. Apparently there is a pagoda and garden at the back of the restaurant but of course today was too cold and wet to enjoy it. The food is excellent which explains why every table was full with a line in the foyer. We enjoyed several appetizers and followed with green and yellow curries but the menu was extensive and service was fast and friendly.
I will definitely retun on my next visit to Wrightsville beach.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 14ukjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Indochine is unlike any restaurant you've been to before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Indochine has been a favorite with ILM (= airport designation for Wilmington, NC) locals for a long time. It is hard to beat a restaurant that has a unique setting, offers many different types of dishes (Japanese, Chinese, Thai), provides good food, large portions (everyone leaves with a box) and has great service ... all at a reasonable price.

If you go for dinner, & especially if on the weekend -or- during our tourist season, plan to get there early .. or you won't get in. They are mobbed because they offer so much (variety, portion size, choices, good service) at a reasonable price.

I have lived here for ten years & Indochine is still one of my favorite restaurants. Make sure you ask for outdoor seating, in the back garden, if the weather is nice. It is (again) unusual .. & spectacular.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochine also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Indochine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing