We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place to eat”
Review of Indochine

Indochine
Ranked #8 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
asheville,nc
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Neat place to eat”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Recommended by a local and from trip advisor I tried it out. I loved the atmosphere. So much "eye candy" with the lights and decorating. The food was pretty good. I got veggie summer rolls with mango. I told the server that I was gluten free so he brought me gluten free sauces for my rolls. I also ordered the bean thread dish with veggies. It was good. So many good things to pick from though and the place was packed! Not cheap. I would go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    233
    75
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Wonderful food--huge variety. Worth the wait at night. Try the lunch menu--great options and you can get in and out quickly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan49673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, N.C.
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food in Wilmington”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Indochine provides a unique dining experience. The decor makes you feel good when you enter and the service is excellent. The wait staff is accustomed to working in a busy environment. Indochine has been very successful and has gotten busier over the years. They do not take reservations and if you arrive after 6:00pm or so, expect to wait 45 minutes to an hour. The bar (only waiting area in the winter) is small and can get crowded.

The food is excellent and comes in a variety of different degrees of hotness. Our favorite is the Happy Melody, which is a combination of beef, chicken, pork and sea food. The portions are large and it is fun to share several different dishes. The menu appeals to a variety of tastes.

Although the restaurant is busy most all the time, the crowd actually adds to the dining experience. We enjoy watching all of the people that that frequent Indochine and the dining experience, once seated is pleasant. Indochine should be enjoyed when you have several hours to spend for dinner. If you are looking for something quick, try another restaurant.

One major criticiism is the PARKING. The spaces are too small, the lot is not well lit and the asphalt is cracking up with growing pot holes. It is an adventure to find a suitable parking space. The owners are doing well enough to provide their patrons with better parking. Overall, you won't be disappointed with your dining experience at Indochine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmatheny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of this place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Everytime I visit the area I run here. I love the food, the atmosphere and the service. The tofu toast is so good. The curry dishes are great and my favorite is Yum Yum chicken.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rangerswife02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This has been my favorite place to go for 10 years. Great Thai food, generous helpings, wonderful, fun atmosphere, great service. I always take visitors there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CABPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indochine also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Indochine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing