We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but overrated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bento Box sushi

The Bento Box sushi
Ranked #74 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The menu offers food from Japan, Thailand, Vietnam, China, and Korea. The focal point of The Bento Box is the sushi bar where guests can interact with the Sushi Chefs to create a unique dining experience or you may enjoy the private dining room for an intimate small group, the outdoor patio with its zen rock garden and water fountains or the sake lounge. The Bento Box sources as much organic and sustainably grown product as possible. Whether it's salmon from Scotland, hamachi from Kyushu Japan, or free range chicken, organic vegetables, and natural pork from North Carolina, we continuously seek out the best products to serve our guests.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good but overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

this is one of the better sushi restaurants in town. the chef is creative and he knows it. i've always had a good meal here.

Helpful?
Thank Georgia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    27
    17
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JaninaOne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like the O.C.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Located across from Mayfaire in a upscale strip mall/plaza. I mention this because it can be easily missed. It's a "seat yourself" kinda place, at least when I was there it was. I found it to be clean, the service was good, and our bento boxes; sushi and bento" were an excellent lunch choice. Light, fresh, and tasty. I felt like I was back in C.A. for a little while.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaninaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent food, beautiful presentment, reasonably priced. The menu has been expanded since their opening about 7 years ago - former head Sushi Chef at the Breakers! Fantastic tempura rolls, rice dishes, and asian main courses in addition to the great sushi offerings. Service is top notch, atmosphere is upscale but relaxed. . . we always try to take out of towners and recent movers to Wilmington there to introduce them. We all keep coming back. . .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best sushi around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Ordered the PAIN sushi which is touted as the spiciest sushi in the house. Very flavorful, but not enough heat. Asked for more hot pepper oil which did the trick. Friendly service and an amazing menu. I never liked sushi before.... but the freshness of their cuisine will bring me back!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“All Time Favorite: Must Eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've lived in WILMINGTON for 22 years and have traveled the globe, Bento Box is incredible. Service is top notch. The chef, Lee, is skilled, creative, and is extraordinarily discerning regarding his fish. The blue fin is as good as it can get. The eel is fantastic. If you're on the Wilmington area don't both with any other sushi place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RTWin80Days2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bento Box sushi also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Bento Box sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing