We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed here over labor day weekend. Its a quick drive to Wrightsville Beach, so this hotel made a nice "home base" for exploring beaches and downtown Wilmington.

The hotel itself has nice new rooms; not as large as a Residence Inn studio, but still has a well equipped kitchenette (fridge, microwave, 2-burner stove).

Everything was clean and still in good condition (hotel is less than a year old).

Breakfast was adequate, although the serving area is very cramped and poorly organized for large crowds (especially families with small children).

Computers in the lobby are nice, but having one positioned as the first thing you see when you enter was rather odd. The two workstations were almost always in use during our stay. They had an over-aggressive content-filtering system employed.

Didn't use the pool or other fitness amenities, but they looked like most other things on the property -- relatively small, but clean, new, functional, bright, and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chriskebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    131
    31
    16
    6
See reviews for
174
107
40
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Maybe my best hotel stay ever. Nice hotel, almost brand new. Rooms are well thought out and meet most travelers needs. An electrical problem with the first room necessitated moving to a room next door; front desk manager did exactly what she should have done. No problems afterward. Staff was friendly, helpful and professional. Other hotels could learn a great deal from this hotel.

  • Liked — Staff was incredibly helpful
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sss128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Overall, I was very impressed with this hotel. Stayed here on vacation, hotel had only been open for about 10 months when I was there. I did use rewards points for my stay though so I can't comment on price/value.

This is a GREAT hotel if you are a business traveler. I won't even list all of the well thought out amenities they have for the biz traveler. You can find all of that info. on their web site.

I went as a vacation traveler and still found it to be very nice as a home-base hotel. The rooms are small (but space is well-planned!) and the hotel is small, as are the public areas (but again, space is well-utilized), and there are no restaurants or bars inside. But if you want a hotel to use as a home base while you're out and about, this is perfect. The in-suite kitchens (full fridge, microwave, 2 burner stove top, but NO oven, with all the basic cookware and dishes) is a great money saver. The kitchen is best for cooking up a breakfast (though why do that- they have a FREE, very nice buffet of convenient breakfast foods in the lobby), zapping a quick frozen meal or snack, or maybe cooking up a pot of spaghettin one night. That's about it.

Other conveniences include laundry room, small (tiny) snack/convenience shop, free computers w/ internet in lobby, outdoor grill and dining area, indoor pool (tiny!! A great place to soak if you happen to be alone, or a great place for your small children to burn off a little enery, that's it), and jacuzzi.

The hotel is very conveniently located on the highway, a very short easy drive to Wrightsville Beach (lots of good public parking and beach access), as well as slightly longer drive to downtown Wilmington. Good basic shopping and restaurants nearby. As the other reviewer said, this hotel is NOT easy to find. It is set back from the road a bit, with a barely visible sign. Be forewarned and take good directions if you don't happen to have a gps. Or just end up driving back and forth up and down the road like I did for a while.

My only complaint during my stay was very SLOW, uninterested response by the front desk to fix a plumbing problem in the bathroom. But maybe that was a one-time thing.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rohugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

Hotel is new has lots of room and comfortable. good value for the price. A little hard to find even though on a main road. Pool is a little small, breakfast is very simple but free, staff is nice, good location.
Rooms are very big, with larger than usual fridge, 2 burner stove top, pots and pans and lots of cabinet and closet space. Good for extended stay. Beds are on par with springhill suites, foam type matresses but comfortable. Bathroom a bit small and acquard setup.
Hard part is finding it. sign is small and set back off the road there is a little driveway that is easy to miss. Once you find it, the location is good. short drive to beach and to stores and restaurants. Near highways for travel.

  • Liked — lots of space
  • Disliked — not easily visible from the road
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelnperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Property: TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Address: 305 Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing