We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here in October it was an emergency to get to North Carolina and since I love staying at Marriott's it was nice to see they had a few. The hotel is nice and clean we stopped off in Leland, NC first at my mother in laws to see her waited a little before we wen to check in it was easy to get to we flew into Myrtle Beach.
The room had a full fridge 2 burners which was nice I didn't cook but we brought drinks. They offer a hot breakfast in the morning which was good and I've never seen a hotel that serves turkey bacon which was a plus for my husband since he doesn't eat pork.
The pool was nice but small that's something notice with Marriott they have nice hotels and when there building it they always put in small pools it's indoors and that was great with a hot tub we used the gym as well everything was very nice I also love Marriott's because there beds are so comfortable plus I love earning my points and on this stay they had a special get 5,000 points extra per day that was great.
The only thing I would like this hotel to do is get more lighting around the building the one day it was packed and had to park in the back of the hotel and the lighting should be brighter for guest for there safety and the bathroom door wouldn't stay open it kept closing but other than that when we return we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokerolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidel L, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Pokerolls, Thank you for your encouraging words! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed all we had to offer while you were in town. It means a great deal to know we are doing well taking care of our elite members. Its always great to hear how much you enjoyed breakfast. We do our best to help each day start off well. Looking forward to the next time you make it out to Wilmington and the Towneplace Suites!

Guest Service Manager
Fidel Lucero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 500 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling from Atlanta to Emerald Isle and got a late start. With two children under the age of 6 it was late and we needed to stop. Found this hotel thru trip advisor and found a incredible deal of $58 including tax for the night. This hotel was great. Even with the great deal the young man Fidel I think adjusted our original reservation of 1 bed to two to accommodate our young girls. A really nice guy and I appreciate his customer service.

Overall the hotel was very clean, updated rooms, excellent customer service and staff that always were engaged.

The biggest negative and item holding them back from perfect was the breakfast. Not a lot to select from, they ran out of most items, what they did have tasted bad, and the staff kept saying they would bring out more after they defrosted it.

Other than that this hotel is perfect for a short stay as it is close to everything on Market St.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank dadooleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Hey dadooleys. Yes I recall you and your wonderful family! It was a pleasure hosting you during your trip. We do all we can to make a stay such as yours feel like you never left home. If you are ever passing through in the future we would be our pleasure to have you again!

Guest Service Manager
Fidel Lucero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We rented two rooms for grandson's graduation. We had twin queen rooms that were in the center of the hotel and these were very roomy. Overall the rooms were clean but showed a bit of wear around the edges with loose shower handle and missing baseboard in one spot. Breakfast area was a bit small, but the fair was typical of most with eggs, sausage, bacon, pan cakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, etc.

We travel with two small dogs and there is a nice walk area at the rear of the hotel with clean up bags available. Access to the area is from the doors at either end of the hotel. There is a one time $75 per stay fee for pets.

A little surprised that the TV cable was analog and not digital. Wireless Internet speed was over 12 MBS but I had to have the front desk reboot their router when connection began to hang.

Just outside the front of the hotel is a smoking area for guest with nice seating and a gas fireplace here which makes it comfortable on the chilly days.

All in all if we were staying in the area again we would stay here.

Room Tip: Elevator is in the right center of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobM28391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thanks BobM28391. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It means a lot to know we were able to accomodate all that you needed during your Son's graduation.
Just an update for our cable and internet: We will soon be upgrading to a new provider with more channels and inhanced internet connection.
Thank you so much for choosing us, and we look forward to the next time you make it to the Towneplace Suites.

Guest Service Manager
Fidel Lucero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were in Wilmington for a pleasure vacation & absolutely loved the TownePlace. The TownePlace is conveniently located to all major roads. We may be making another trip to Wilmington & will definitely stay here. The front desk staff were absolutely wonderful. They always gave great directions & asked how our stay was going. Due to the impending snow/ice storm heading up the I-95 corridor, we had to leave a day early to head back to Long Island, NY. Since we booked through Hotels.com, Lisa went over & beyond to help get a refund of one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAmy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello JohnAmy2014, Thank you for stay here with us and for taking the time to provide such a great review. We're please to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Lisa was able to assist you upon checkout. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The front desk staff and manager went two extra miles to make me comfortable. Three thumbs up! Without any reservations (get the pun here?) I will book a room at this hotel when I travel to Wilmington again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello Carlnack, Thank you for your kind words regarding our team member. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews. We've stayed in Marriott hotels before and love them but I wouldn't chose TownePlace Suites again. The facilities in the room were good and it had a very good sized TV. However, it was all very cramped and the finish and decor in the rooms was scruffy. It was minor things, like the tap in the bathtub was really loose and the edging round the flooring wasn't finished properly and I found the bed really uncomfortable.

Reception/lobby area was very small but reception were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast area was tiny and whilst there was plenty of food, the choice and quality wasn't great and because the area was small, it was a fight to get to it. I felt it too was scruffy and not very clean. I didn't even bother with breakfast on our second day.

The pool and hot tub were good but the heating had broken on the pool so it was too cold to swim in. This was just unfortunate.

So if you know what you're getting and get this hotel for a good price then it's fine but I think for the price we paid, we could have enjoyed a more up market hotel with better attention to detail.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetsplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello janetsplanet,

Thank you for staying here with us at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Wilmington. I am sorry to learn the hotel was not up to your expectations. I greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our team members and your constructive feedback regarding the hotel.

Sincerely,

Greg Grigsby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I have stayed here with our pets at least six times. The last three times, it has been the exact same room - which, if you have pets - has been great!! Our dogs feel right at home, and know they are "on vacation" and feel right at home.

The staff is excellent - as Marriott Platinum members, we are pretty low maintenance, and just ask for our own towels and supplies, with no hassle or questions - because they know we have pets in the room.

This hotel has a full kitchen, with a full size fridge - excellent for the holidays or longer trips. The hot tub and pool and nice, and the breakfast has been upgraded to more hot items like eggs and bacon, sausage or turkey bacon.

I have never had any issues with other pets, or excessive noise. Just a very pleasant experience every time.

AND we are only a couple miles from the beach and very close to UNCW.

We will be back....again....and....again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Greetings Lori W,

Thank you for this wonderful review of both our hotel and team. We're very happy that we have become your choice here in Wilmington. We look forward to seeing all of you again on your next trip.

Warmest Regards,

Greg Grigsby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Address: 305 Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $92 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing