We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
328
164
65
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
328
164
65
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard by marriottfront deskvan campenwrightsville beachcracker barrelbusy roadnice roombusiness travelgreat customer servicewould stay here againfirst floornice stayoutdoor poolconvenient locationbistrolobbyvivian
Filter
Updating list...
430 - 435 of 584 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We checked into this hotel solely due to lack of availability elsewhere. The hotel is very dated, and the halls we walked down to our room smelled strongly of vomit. The pool had a smattering of chaise lounges, but no chairs, tables or towels available. In the morning, we found a flea jumping around the sheets of the bed. When I mentioned that to the front desk clerk, he said 'this used to be all forest', as if that justified the flea in our bed. He also said someone would inspect the bedding, but alas, no one came. The outlet in the bathroom was also pulled out of the wall and the shower wall was broken in several places. You can tell a lot about a hotel by the type of guest staying there ... avoid this place if possible.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djhartm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hello djhartm01; we’re sorry that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. A few of your observations are puzzling to us...and have us wondering if you are talking about our renovated hotel. In addition to the multiple lounge chairs, the pool area in our courtyard has two groupings of table and chairs with an umbrella; also a fully stocked rack of pool towels. This area of town was not a forest prior to the hotel being built. There are however, two nearby Marriott branded hotels that are located in a wooded area. Not knowing your exact room, I can't comment specifically regarding your bathroom but I know all rooms are in excellent condition because of our renovation and strict Marriott standards that we adhere to. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Joe and Kenny were the best help to us and we would love to stay here again. The room was clean and the coffee was excellent. We stayed there for the weekend and this place is good for short stays. It is near every location in Wilmington that you would like to go to.

Room Tip: I don't have any tips-just stay there!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you Rita C. for the wonderful feedback from your recent stay at our Courtyard Wilmington property. Kenny and Joe are indeed terrific ambassadors for the hotel. You're welcome to come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel suited our needs quite well. Nice room, extremely helpful staff John, Joe and Kenny were especially helpful to us. Although the breakfast was not complimentary, it was very reasonable and excellent--including well made (delicious) cappuccino. Also food was available for most of the day and evening. The only problem for us was that the pool closes at 10 PM and the hot tub was not working during our 3-day stay (August 9-12, 2012) The hotel is near everything and we would happily return if we were to visit Wilmington again. Also, this hotel is near the Wilmington airport. Although we had our own car, the hotel does provide a Hotel Shuttle to the airport and other nearby destinations, such as restaurants. The Hotel is in walking distance of several nice restaurants, such as Cracker Barrel.

Room Tip: No comment. Ours was a room with two full beds, a great TV, nice bathroom, etc.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hello Ann O! Thank you for sharing your guest experience with the other Tripadvisor readers. We certainly appreciate your business. John, Kenny and Joe also appreciate the praise. We're so sorry that the hot tub was out of order during your stay. We were waiting on a part. Sorry! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

First the positives: clean room, nice pool. Our room was advertised as having double beds, sofa bed, and guest room and we had a king size bed and a sofa bed that could not be pulled out or it would hit the bed! We searched for the guest room and finally went to the front desk, only to be told, "we are sorry." Continental breakfast was available...FOR A PRICE. It would have been nice to get what we expected instead of excuses.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
4  Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Hello Alicia H. Thank you for the praise of our clean rooms and nice pool area. We're so sorry that you were somehow misled to believe that our doubles or suites have two double beds. We do not advertise that as all of our suites have king beds and none of our doubles have a sleeper sofa. In our standard King rooms, our sleeper sofa's fold-out away from the king bed. I'm not sure if your review is from your stay at our hotel. I will look into this though. As far as our food offerings, we have a full service Bistro, open to the public that features Starbucks products, a terrific breakfast and dinner menu and has a full evening lounge. Next time travel brings you through Wilmington, we hope you give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you want an awesome hotel close to everything, this is where you need to stay! We come to Wilmington about every 6 weeks for a weekend and have stayed at the Courtyard every time but one. The one time we waited to late to get a reservation and had to stay at the Hampton Inn was the worse weekend we had! That's another review. Anyway, the staff at the Courtyard are awesome. They go out of their way to accommodate you and make sure everything is perfect! The outdoor pool and lounge areas are a great place to relax and always clean and welcoming. Thank you Jon and Kenny for taking such good care of us and making this another wonderful visit!!!

Room Tip: First floor that opens to the interior courtyard is great!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

d d, thank you for the stellar review of your overall experiences at our Courtyard WIlmington property. The key word in your review / headline is "Another". We like it when our guests come back time after time. Thank you for your loyalty. Sorry that you were not able to get a reservation that one time and had to stay with the other guy. We always tell folks to book early and book often. It's been a very busy summer here along the Carolina coast. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews