We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty mediocre by high Courtyard Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Walden, Tenn
Level Contributor
374 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Pretty mediocre by high Courtyard Standards”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This flag hotel rarely disappoints and there is no reason to feel shy about staying here. But compared to other CY by M, the Wilmington property is a bit below average. My room was very small and a little worn around the edges. Nothing awful but not quite what I expected.

Lobby is well maintained and staff is very friendly and efficient. Kudos here. Breakfast not included as is typical of Courtyards. Property is a bit hard to find, off College Road behind a gaudy car dealer.

Again, if you like Courtyards, there is no reason not to stay here. But, you might shop around and check rates as there is nothing special about this hotel that would demand your loyalty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Hello civilwarguy! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent stay in beautiful Wilmington. We do appreciate your honest feedback as it relates to your experience at our newly renovated property. Thank for the kudos as it relates to our fantastic lobby featuring The Bistro. You mention that your room seemed "a little worn around the edges"...I'm sorry that your room didn't exceed your expectations. The rooms were totally renovated / updated less than one year ago with all of the latest Courtyard by Marriott amenities. Our guest service and internal audit scores continue to exceed Courtyard brand standards. You'll be hard-pressed to find cleaner rooms in Wilmington. We that if travel brings you back to Wilmington, you'll give us the opportunity to earn your business again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    152
    55
    14
    11
See reviews for
136
93
38
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The stay in this hotel was excellent!! The hotel was very clean and we loved the "modern" decor. The food in the bistro in the lobby was excellent. I can not say enough about the staff at this hotel!! They were so friendly and helpful. I would stay at this hotel over any other that I have stayed in lately in any city!! Jay M. at the front desk was especially helpful, friendly and professional. Thanks Jay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
SB, Thanks for the great feedback from your recent stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed our renovated hotel, including The Bistro. From our entire staff - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have been to this hotel twice and both stays were wonderful! The staff does a great job accommodating our group's needs and were extremely friendly. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
afed, thank you for the great review of your most recent stay. It was our pleasure to earn your repeat business. Thanks so much for taking the time to tell everyone how much you enjoy terrific customer service and renovated hotel. We look forward to having your group stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Nicely updated hotel. Clean. Accommodating staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
TB, It was our pleasure hosting your group recently. We certainly appreciate your business and feedback. The entire staff takes great pride in being very accommodating to our new groups. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting your group again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at this particular Courtyard by Marriott in 2009 when they just began their renovations. What wonderful upgrades were made! They replaced the lumpy beds, out of date 25 inch televisions, drab decor and carpet with all new upgrades. Our two queen room now had a flat screen television, wonderful beds, a lovely dresser with a mini fridge hidden inside, and new bathroom vanity features. Check in was a breeze and although we did not have to purchase anything the Marketplace and Bistro were both well decorated. The hotel is located close to Wal-Mart and various restaurants and Ten Pin Bowling which is always fun for our family!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missbell910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Missbell910, We're so glad you gave us a try to see all the exciting changes and upgrades since your last stay with us. Thank you for the nice review of our renovated and conveniently-located hotel. We look forward to earning your business next time travel brings you back to Wilmington. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The staff was friendly but went above and beyond when one of them returned my day planner to me. I had left my day planner with my life and a lot of money in it on top of the car and I did not realize this until the next morning! That says a lot about the hotel staff and the GM!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenAngel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
We're so thankful that we were able to reunite you with your day planner. I know I would be lost without mine. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you enjoyed our renovated property. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I travel all over North Carolina and South Carolina and stay almost exclusively at The Marriott Courtyards on my trips. I am also a Marriott property owner. I have to tell you that I have been, very , and I mean VERY impressed with the service and help that I have received from Kenny and Barbara at this property. The service has been outstanding in all areas. Both Kenny and Barbara have done everything they could to make this an incredible experience. The rooms were warm and friendly as well as all the staff. The rooms were modern and up to date and very comfortable not to mention very clean and neat. I will stay here everytime I get a chance. Thank You

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILMCY1, Director of Sales at Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Great feedback! Thank you so much for the praise of our renovated property. Barb and Kenny do a great job of making everyone feel at home. We're pleased that you like our improvements with the latest Marriott amenities. Next time travel brings you back to Wilmington we look forward to having you stay with us again. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Property: Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Address: 151 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach has a fun, energetic decor to match our fun, energetic staff ready to make your stay perfect. FREE onsite self-parking and Wi-Fi. Now featuring The Bistro serving Starbucks drinks, fresh and healthy breakfast and dinner. Fully stocked evening lounge. Centrally located near Wrightsville Beach, ILM Airport, historic downtown Wilmington and just 1 mile from UNCW campus. Go Seahawks! It's a new stay in Wilmington, NC...! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Wilmington-Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Courtyard Wilmington
Wilmington Courtyard
Wilmington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing