We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

No frills but clean rooms and common areas, friendly staff. Conveniently located near the University not far from River walk in one direction or the beach if you go the other way..there were a lot of kids there our weekend attending a soccer camp but noise was not a problem...Breakfast staff did their best to keep food filled for the large crush of young kids

Room Tip: near the highway but it is quite and you won't know it if you didn't look outside the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Kelli2013,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable, quiet stay even though we were busy and that you found our staff very friendly! We're thankful for your high ratings and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area. Thanks again for your comments!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 545 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this location for our wedding anniversary and after checking in we got to our room and it stunk like cigarette smoke, we asked non smoking room. After the punch of the smell, I checked the beds and found bedbugs in both beds. They gave us another room that was cleaner but we found bugs again. The stuff apologize for it and they told me it was spider beattles. we took pictures of the bugs and compare them to the spider beattles and they are totally different. Will not book again here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franklin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Franklin Q,

Thank you reviewing our hotel. We take our cleanliness very seriously and apologize for any inconvenience; though after investigation none of our rooms contain "bedbugs," issues with some insects may occur seasonally and we will use your feedback to continually monitor and ensure we provide clean, comfortable accommodations for all of our guests. If you'd like to discuss anything further, please reach out to me at the number below. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you'll allow us another opportunity in the future to give you a clean, comfortable stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a good hotel. It was clean and quiet. Everyone working at the hotel was very friendly from the front desk to housekeeping. We never heard anyone else at night. Small, but clean pool. Good breakfast selection. The lady managing breakfast did great and was very friendly. Workout room was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mom2three850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Mom2three850,

Thanks for reviewing our Best Western Plus. I'm happy to hear you had a comfortable, quiet stay and found all of our staff very friendly! We are grateful for your 5-star ratings and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington. Thank you again for your comments!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Have enjoyed staying here for years and will continue to do so. Not far from Wrightsville Beach and plenty of good places to eat nearby. Room was very comfortable and clean towels were always available at the pool area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Tim G,

Thanks for your review and loyalty to our hotel! We're glad you had a clean, comfortable stay and that our location was excellent for you to get to the beach and around the area. Thank you again for your praise and high ratings and we can't wait for your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting a friend and found the location really perfect for driving or walking to most of the main stores, restaurants and attractions. We have two young kids and are usually more budget conscience, and this place fit perfectly. The pool was great and so was the breakfast, something for everyone on the menu. The staff was polite and eager to help. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kernmyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear kernmyea,

Thanks for reviewing our Best Western Plus; we're glad you found our location excellent and enjoyed our pool and complimentary breakfast! I'm also happy to hear our staff was able to help out with all of your needs. Thank you again for your praise and we hope to see you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. We checked in without a problem. The facility was very clean, as was our room. The beds were very comfortable. The pillows were a bit fluffier than I was used to though, so my neck was a bit sore in the morning. I went to breakfast right away in the morning and didn't have any problems. However, when my friend and daughter went later in the morning they had a hard time getting food because it was so busy and some of the other guests were rude -- not something the hotel can do anything about -- which was frustrating. The location is great because it is just a few miles down the road from the downtown area. I would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Michelle B,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel - we're glad you had a great stay and plan to return the next time you're in Wilmington! It's also great to hear you found your room clean and comfortable. We appreciate your high ratings and hope it won't be too long before your next stay; thank you again for your comments!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Me and my family had a wonder two nights and three days at Best Western PLUS University Inn located in Wilmington, North Carolina. We had a blast we traveled to the BATTLESHIP. We also went to the AQUARIUMS. We also ate at ELIZABETH PIZZA. while we was staying. The Rooms was clean also i like the fact that when we went out We could get our rooms cleans.The Pool was excellent. The Fitness room was a little dirty the walking machine didn't want to work. The water was hot and tasted very very disgusting. Other then those disadvantage. The stay was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear James A,

We appreciate you sharing your experience at our hotel and are delighted to hear it was an excellent one, as well as that you were able to visit several nearby attractions and restaurants! We do apologize for any inconvenience with our fitness room and appreciate your feedback to help improve our facilities. Otherwise, thanks again for your 5-star ratings across the board and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Best Western Plus University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $84 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning hotel offers Southern hospitality, spacious rooms and a great value for guests who want to visit historic Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Located halfway between the two, and close to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, our Wilmington hotel is a great value. Amenities include: Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Outdoor Pool, BBQ Grill, Outdoor Seating, Fitness Center, Fridge & Microwave in every room, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing