We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised ;-) For the price this one was a keeper. Very clean, friendly staff and close to everything. Walked to Olive Garden for dinner ;-) I was worried about noise, it being a University location, but I don't think I saw a student and I certainly didn't hear any! Will stay again on future trips down there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Michelle C,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are really happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! I'm glad you found our location great and felt you received good value for your money. Thanks for your high ratings and we look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 545 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel was beyond amazing, particularly for the price! The lobby, the room, and the bathroom were all spotless; the people at the front counter, the cleaning ladies, and the lady who stocked and cleaned up after the complimentary breakfast were all super friendly; and the breakfast was super tasty (waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits, bagels, English muffins, etc.). Plus, it is situated right in the middle of everything--easy access to restaurants (I recommend Buck Wild), to shopping, and to the highway. I highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Rebecca S,

Thanks so much for your review and kind words - we're delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and found our location excellent for your needs. It's also great to hear you found our service very friendly. We can't wait for your next visit, thank you again for your feedback!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I'm pleased to give Best Western a positive review. It is usually my hotel of choice when traveling. I know I will have a good night's sleep on a clean and comfortable bed and the staff will be helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lilady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear lilady8,

Thanks for reviewing our Best Western Plus; I'm happy you had another comfortable, clean stay and found our staff so accommodating and friendly. We are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thank you again for your comments.


David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very pleased with the location and price. It was in a good location that was easy to get to downtown as well as the beach. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping just outside of the hotel. The price was very fair. I would definitely stay their again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We're glad you felt you received good value for your money and found our location convenient for you to get around Wilmington! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town, thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We returned to this hotel (in early Dec. 2013) because visits in previous years - pre BW - had provided such excellent experience and value. This time we had repeated problems with malfunctioning electronic locks, both in the door to the room and at the parking lot entry door. Being locked out of the hotel on a rainy night is a memorable experience. Replacement keys were equally unreliable. Staff was helpful and apologetic. By now (early January) the problem should have been fixed weeks ago. Study the more recent reports carefully before booking! My review is incomplete because the categories don't provide for a single defect of such importance in an otherwise apparently well-managed hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent clean facility with great breakfast. The location is located near all that Wilmington, NC offers. Location is close to the bus depot which arrives and departs for Amtrak. Location is in walking distance of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Nancy S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western Plus. I'm happy to hear you had an excellent stay all-around and we're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board. We can't wait to see you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The interior of the hotel has been renovated. Big plus. The room I stayed in was clean, with a new flat-screen new bedding too. Breakfast was included and had some hot options that were rotated daily. Not bad at all. Coffee was always available in the waiting area and the front desk was friendly and on point.

House keeping was very polite and honored some personal requests that I had regarding my room. (I can be fussy when staying more than one or two nights at any hotel.) Location was great! Literally in the middle of everything. No matter what direction I went in, I either ran into the downtown area, shopping, or a beach. Just great for the weary traveler who does not want to drive forever to take in the sights, only to drive back 'forever' to get back to a hotel.

Bottom line: worth every penny I spent.

Room Tip: Parking in the rear of the building is less crowded and sometimes the front desk puts out fresh bake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyPA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear MissyPA71,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; we're glad to hear it was a great one! I'm happy that you enjoyed our look so much as well as the amenities we offer, as well as that our location was great for your needs. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly Best Western Plus University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $84 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning hotel offers Southern hospitality, spacious rooms and a great value for guests who want to visit historic Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Located halfway between the two, and close to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, our Wilmington hotel is a great value. Amenities include: Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Outdoor Pool, BBQ Grill, Outdoor Seating, Fitness Center, Fridge & Microwave in every room, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing