We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close enough to Downtown”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was a chain hotel. Hotel staff were all really friendly and helpful. It had clean rooms, the maid didn't come too early and the breakfast was basic and decent. Close to a lot of resturants, some within walking distance. Also really close to UNC Wilmington. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Angela H,

Thanks so much for reviewing our Best Western Plus; I'm pleased to hear you had a comfortable, clean stay and found our staff very friendly and efficient. We're very happy you plan to stay with us again and can't wait to see you! Thank you again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    146
    39
    16
    15
See reviews for
201
116
35
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our softball team stayed here while playing at UNCW. The Hotel was very nice and clean. The front desk staff was very helpful with finding restaurants and other services we needed. Very good location for food and shopping and only minutes away from the college campus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us and I hope all went well with your game! I'm happy to hear you found our staff so helpful and that our close proximity to UNCW worked out great. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The motel and service was great. Our team was very well taken care of while there and we would use the Best Western again when we return to Wilmington or in another city. The location was ideal for both business and pleasure purposes. The reservation persons were very helpful and it was easy dealing with them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us and are glad you had a great experience and found our service to be excellent, as well as that our location was great for your needs. Thanks for your kind words and high ratings and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed here twice. The first time we booked a room online and we were not made aware that it was a smoking room. They were unable to move us once we arrived. They had no other rooms. The 2nd time around was a better experience. The room was clean and did not smell. The staff here are nice and the hotel is in a good location. So overall, it is average. Its a good place to lay your head for a night but nothing fancy here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Hannah S,

Thanks for your review and I apologize for the mix-up during your first stay, but am glad to hear everything went well during your second. I'm also happy that you find our service friendly and location great. We hope to see you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thank you again for your comments and please reach out to me at the number below if you'd like to discuss anything further.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was especially surprised how close this hotel was to stores like Walmart, Target and Costco. I was warmly welcomed and promptly attended to when I arrived. The free WiFi was easy to setup and fast. The rooms were spacious and clean and we were even provided with new disposable tv remotes everyday. The breakfast was outstanding and the pool was gated, clean and the perfect temperature. There were fresh towels made constantly available poolside. The interstate was easily accessible and even the ABC was within walking distance. I had relatives stay at a hotel only a few blocks down, and it was noticeable how the other hotels got progressively worse as you traveled away from the Best Western down on Market street. A great place for a family to come and hit the beach!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top (4th) floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 20748Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear 20748Rich,

Thanks for your review and I'm pleased to hear our location worked out very well for your needs, as well as that you had a terrific stay overall and enjoyed all of the amenities we offer. We hope that next time your whole family will stay with us! Thank you again for your comments and we can't wait to see you next time.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

As another traveler noted, new ownership and management has made this one of the better places to stay in Wilmington right now. The price is right, the breakfast is good, the rooms are comfortable, and it's clean. One minor quibble, we stayed on one of the upper floors and the wireless internet was practically non-existent. I had to go to the lobby to do anything with it. Also it was very rainy while we were there and the rooms were damp with humidity. I know, welcome to the beach but it would be nice if there was a dehumidifier option.

Room Tip: Get a lower floor if you want to use the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P-Dub56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear P-Dub56,

Thanks for your review and praise of our Best Western Plus - I'm happy to hear you had a comfortable, clean stay overall, but do apologize for the inconvenience regarding our complimentary Wi-Fi and our team will discuss your comments in order to improve our amenities. Otherwise, we're glad you liked our breakfast and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town! Thank you again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed on the third floor and everything smelled like a mixture of smoke and mold. The outlet in the bathroom was broken and overall it just seemed dirty. I had to stare at chewed up gum in the elevator for the entire stay...GROSS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank lestrong3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide the cleanest stay we can for all of our guests and apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations - our housekeeping team will promptly discuss your comments in order to improve our guest experience. If you would like to discuss further, please reach out to me at the number below. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will give us another opportunity on your next trip to Wilmington.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Coastline Inn
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405 (Formerly Best Western Plus University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning hotel offers Southern hospitality, spacious rooms and a great value for guests who want to visit historic Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Located halfway between the two, and close to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, our Wilmington hotel is a great value. Amenities include: Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Outdoor Pool, Fitness Center, Fridge & Microwave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing