We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville NC
1 review
“Good Stay”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I were there during the Thanksgiving week., I walked into to a warm welcoming atmosphere. The Christmas tree was lit up and the holiday music was playing. Very clean, quiet and safe. Good stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JOANN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle p, General Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I'm very greatful that you enjoyed your stay at our Best Western Plus. I hope when you are in the Wilmington area we can become your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    144
    38
    16
    14
See reviews for
195
115
35
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had confirmed reservations for this hotel and when we showed up to check in they informed us of the $50 pet fee. This was not advertised on their website or Best Western's. Shame on me for not asking I guess, but did not feel like being gouged so we found another hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay with your pet unless you want to be overcharged.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cosmicvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle p, Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I apologize you feel our hotel is not pet friendly. However, we are. The $50 one time fee covers the expense of the room being deep cleaned upon check out so the next guest can enjoy a fresh clean room. The Guest Service Represenative always makes the guest aware of this fee upon making reservations if the guest states they have a pet. We also require a copy of the pets vaccination records to ensure all our guests safety. I am also looking into the fact that it's not stated on our website. Thank you for your feed back as we strive to provide superior customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Good price at $79 for a top floor king room in October....I stayed here last year when it was an Innkeeper and it was nice, but it has undergone a complete renovation and is amazing now for a Best Western. Granite counters in the lobby, hip retro furniture, business center, free Wifi, a sparkiling pool and fitness room and a great hot breakfast with make-it-yourself waffles, bacon, eggs, fruit and more. Great for business travelers, families, tourists and UNCW visitors. Everything is new and clean and comfortable, and the central location between the beach and downtown, and right off the interstate, is great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel that does not face the highway. Noise on that side isnt too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnyPlace2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copperhill, tn
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

When you arrive at the property, then walk into the lobby, it is evident that this is a cut above the run of the mill, non-Plus, Best Western. Very friendly staff, very nice, clean, room, and a really comfy bed. The free breakfast is probably the best we've ever had at a Best Western. Bacon & eggs, many varieties of breads, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries, plus all the other normal fare you find at hotel breakfasts. One thing this place has that we've never seen before, in addition to the tables in the breakfast area, there is a row of very nice booths, which we really liked.

Now for the mixed bag part. First problem I had was connecting to the hotel's wi-fi to use my laptop. A call to the desk didn't help, the lady was very nice, but not familiar with the available wi-fi. She did offer to call the manager and get back to me, though. After navigating through the overly complicated procedure a number of times, though, I was able to do a work-around and finally get connected. I doubt most people would have even kept trying, but I really needed to get online. Next thing, we noticed a blank wall which had obviously had a large picture hanging on it. Two brackets and a lead anchor were still in place, but no picture. I made a note to be sure and mention this at checkout in case it had been recently removed without the hotel's knowledge. Then we found that after retiring, the A/C unit's compressor had a very loud vibration when it cycled on. Got quiet when it cycled off, but often woke us as it cycled on. Again, I reported this at checkout, but am very surprised that it hadn't been fixed earlier since it had to disturb guests before us. We also noticed more noise from guests in adjacent rooms than in most hotels we've stayed at.

All in all, the good outweighed the bad, and I expect that in another room we might possibly have had a perfect stay. The outstanding breakfast made up for a lot.

Room Tip: Make sure to listen to the A/C cycling on and off before you unpack and settle in, so you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackie205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle p, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your response. I will make sure we look into the a/c issues to make sure it got fixed. Thank you for respnding and letting us know how you felt. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my fiancées stayed here for one night. We had went there to help a friend move and it was very clean and they just did a renovation. The breakfast was very good for a complentary. Well as my fiancé is eating breakfast in the bed, he sees this little tiny red bug, I just killed it and we didn't really think nothing of it. Well I looked up online what could come up for a bed bug in the first cycle, and sure enough it was. I did confront the front desk and talk with the manager on duty and she was very helpful and called the maintenance guy to come and take a look and he happen to find one. They were very concern about it and they refunded our money for the night stay. The manger told us they she had already called there pest control and he was on his way there as we were leaving! I was very pleased with how I was treated after all this and they were very respectful on everything. I know they can't control on who stays there. The bed bugs wasn't there cause it was dirty I just HONESTLY think that some one brought them in! Hope this helps with your stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Centrally located to downtown Wilmington and beaches. Good size pool. Moderately priced for beach area. Very clean and comfortable rooms and pleasant and helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LY214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Check in time was very busy and due to the first room smelling of smoke and the second room not made up yet, we ended up in a third room. During all of these changes the desk agent, Lauren was very pleasant and helpful. Later in the day, I made the mistake of going out without my GPS and needed directions back to the hotel. Desk agent, Chris, was friendly and exact in giving me telephone advice for getting back. Desk people, I have found, are not always knowledgable as to directions. Housekeeping staff are also friendly and helpful. Five stars go to the two ladies taking care of the breakfast. Breakfast may be typical but it was very good. Only negative is that, unlike most hotels, there is just 2% milk which has too much fat for my liking.
Would like to see 1% or skim. The remodeled lobby and breakfast area are nice.

Beds are very comfortable. I have found this to often be the case at Best Westerns. A couple of years ago, I checked on the brand plus model number and ordered one from the mattress
companies commercial department. Have been happy ever since.

Room Tip: For an evening meal, we went to the IHOP which is next door. Perhaps 200 feet away. A good menu. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rt66tbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Property: Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405 (Formerly Best Western Plus University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning hotel offers Southern hospitality, spacious rooms and a great value for guests who want to visit historic Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Located halfway between the two, and close to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, our Wilmington hotel is a great value. Amenities include: Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Outdoor Pool, Fitness Center, Fridge & Microwave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing