We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great experience. Had two adjoining rooms one of which was handicap accessible because my wife is in a wheel chair. This was the best handicap room that we have stayed in that met our needs from the bathroom having enough room to manuever the hoyer lift to the bed not being boxed out so we could get the lift under the bed to easily get her into bed. The breakfast was great and the 2 ladies who were working during our stay were great...very pleasant. You should let them put out a tip jar. Housekeeping and front desk were excellent also. Would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Matt F,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you and your wife found the handicap room fit all your needs. I will be sure to let our breakfast attendants, front desk, and housekeeping know that your family thought they were great.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express & Suites for several years now while conducting business in the greater Wilmington area. Over this time I have had no problems and have always been treated extremely well as a Platinum member . The recent renovations have been very nice and the planned renovations for the lobby and breakfast area will only add to the warm and friendly feeling one feels when they first enter the hotel . While the people at the front desk have always been polite and professional I must say that during my very recent stay the two young ladies that were at the front desk when I checked in ( just after 7PM ) were exceptional in the way and manner they greeted and offered suggestions to a very tired traveller ( made me feel right at home ) .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Jerry M,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stays have been. I'm glad to hear that you are as excited about our lobby renovation as we are. We expect everything to be completed by the end of this year. I will look into who was working during your last stay and will relay your praises to them.

Thank you for being such a loyal guest.

Regards,
Steve Janoski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My boyfriend and i checked in this hotel yesterday afternoon. I opened the refrigerator and it was not cold. It was turned to "max" , so I called for someone to check it. The fellow checked it and set it right for us. He said that the maids will turn off the refrigerators when the room is not occupied....this is so gross! Don't they know that mold grows in refrigerators when they are turned off and left closed??? Luckily, I had my wet wipes to wipe the interior.
As we settled into the room, I noticed a plastic bag with a toilet plunger in it next to the TV. GROSS!!! I set it out in the hallway and called the front desk to let them know it needed to be picked up.
I went out to buy milk and snacks. When I returned to the room, and unpacked, I noticed a pair of socks in the open "closet" area on the floor. I thought they belonged to my boyfriend, so I did not mention it to him.
The next problem arose in the morning. We had been out the night before and had not used the TV. I turned it on to watch the Today Show, only to see that NBC had "no signal". So I went to my second choice- ABC...which had "no signal". I called the front desk and they said there was nothing they could do about it.
When I went down to get my breakfast, I stopped at the front desk and complained about the TV. They offered me 2000 rewards points, which I agreed to accept, but I did not feel it came close to accounting for the lack of service.
When my boyfriend and I were packed and about to leave the room, I asked him "Aren't those your socks?". He picked one up by the edge and said "No". We looked at each other in horror...realizing that someone's socks had been left in the room...in clear sight...now we were wondering- did they even clean the room??? I took a picture and went to the front desk. They were not as appalled as me...and offered me 1000 rewards points (a room costs about 15,000 points so this is not a significant amount)...which I took...but does not come close to taking away the nausea feeling I had from staying there.
I am now a member of the "Never again " club for this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Wendy W,

First off I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of this past weekend's stay with us. Secondly, I would like to apologize that this stay was anything less than satisfactory. We strive to make every guest's stay memorable and we failed to do that with you. The refrigerator, plunger and socks were an unacceptable oversight on our part. I am personally following up with each department to ensure this does not happen again.

Unfortunately, there were periods of time this weekend where our cable provider lost signal. This affected the televisions in our hotel and I am sorry that this was not something we could fix. I do however, understand this is an inconvenience to our guest.

Please accept my sincerest apologies and if there is anything further I can do please feel free to contact me.

Best regards,
Steven Janoski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything was great. The room was recently renovated, clean and quiet. The hotel began breakfast service at 3:30 AM to acccommodate 1/2 marathon race participants. The staff greeted us that morning with smiles and a full breakfast bar. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Amanda J,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was for the half marathon. I'm glad to hear you found our staff accommodating and you enjoyed our renovated look. We try our best to make race day as easy as possible for the participants.

We hope to see you again next time your in Wilmington.

Regards,
Steven Janoski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I travel weekly for work. After such long day working along the coast, I need a nice place to relax. When I was here the first time, I stayed overnight at one of the other hotels, but after I found this one, I desire not to stay anywhere else in Wilmington. I've stayed here several times, so I look forward to staying here. Best rooms in Wilmington!! The absolute best breakfast among hotel chains. Most of your nice hotels which don't have much truck parking, Holiday Inn Express here in Wilmington, NC have limited space available for you and your tractor-trailer. So come on in and enjoy all their amenities. Such an array of shopping and eating restaurants within walking distance actually!

Room Tip: Very reasonable price in rooms, being this close to the beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipStacey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear PhillipStacey1974,

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stays were. We love to have repeat guests and I'm glad you found us.

We look forward to seeing you during all your stays in Wilmington.

Regards,
Steven Janoski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Everything was great, The staff all made us very welcome are they went out of their way to insure that we were taken care of. The morning breakfast was great and there was plenty of food. They always kept the coffee pots full.

Room Tip: If you are in Wilmington this a excellent hotel choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cecil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Cecil R,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our entire staff had so much fun with your group and it was an honor being your host hotel for the week. If you ever find yourself back in Wilmington I hope you will come see us.

Best wishes,
Pierrette Cortner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Traveling for work, I have easily stayed at more than a thousand hotels. For many of those years, I frequented a competitor of Holiday Inn. I recently decided to try somewhere new, and chose this hotel. Best. Decision. Ever. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food and snacks are awesome, and wi fi is reliable and fast. All that is secondary to the service. I have been greeted with nothing but smiles and helpfulness after four hour drives or long hours with customers. I recently was asked by my boss to get a report to him ASAP. Not only did Dominique, Tammy and Adam assist me with printing, faxing, and scanning, but they did it while making me feel like I was in my home office with three assistants. They solidified my business with Holiday Inn for the rest of my career, and I offer any fellow road warrior my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bthatcher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant Genereal Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear bthatcher23,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your recent stays have been! I will be sure to let Tammy, Dominique and Adam know how much their help was appreciated during your stay. I'm so glad they were able to make it memorable for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wilmington on your next trip.

Safe travels!
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located between Wrightsville Beach & Historic Wilmington. We offer great amenities, such as a newly resurfaced outdoor pool with brand new patio furniture, complimentary Wi-Fi access, hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, grits, biscuits, assorted fruits, assorted cereals, assorted drinks, along with yogurt and pancakes. We are the only hotel in Wilmington that has charcoal grills available. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers. Some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. We are close to the USS North Carolina Battleship & Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,400 sq ft of flexible meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing