We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not often does a business traveler feel at home, but I did at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Not often does a business traveler feel at home, but I did at this hotel.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Traveling for work, I have easily stayed at more than a thousand hotels. For many of those years, I frequented a competitor of Holiday Inn. I recently decided to try somewhere new, and chose this hotel. Best. Decision. Ever. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the food and snacks are awesome, and wi fi is reliable and fast. All that is secondary to the service. I have been greeted with nothing but smiles and helpfulness after four hour drives or long hours with customers. I recently was asked by my boss to get a report to him ASAP. Not only did Dominique, Tammy and Adam assist me with printing, faxing, and scanning, but they did it while making me feel like I was in my home office with three assistants. They solidified my business with Holiday Inn for the rest of my career, and I offer any fellow road warrior my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bthatcher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant Genereal Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear bthatcher23,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your recent stays have been! I will be sure to let Tammy, Dominique and Adam know how much their help was appreciated during your stay. I'm so glad they were able to make it memorable for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wilmington on your next trip.

Safe travels!
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    77
    46
    20
    7
See reviews for
108
58
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leechburg PA
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Fantastic experience during our 5 night stay with a reunion group. EVERY employee was so friendly and helpful. Never experienced such great service ANYWHERE!! Clean, comfortable and did I mention FRIENDLY!! Great breakfast also. Coffee service was always available in the dining area. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tiny119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Tiny119,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay was, we were honored to host your group's reunion this year. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff and hotel as much as we enjoyed having you here. If you ever find yourself in Wilmington again we hope you will stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Pierrette Cortner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a nice experience during a 2 night stay. The room was spacious and the bed/bedding was very cozy. The amenities were good too; including free Wi-fi & breakfast. The only slight negative was that my son had a bloody nose during the night which left stains on his pillowcase & sheets. Housekeeping did not change them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDTNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear KDTNC,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was. I'm glad you found our beds comfy and cozy and our rooms spacious. I apologize for the oversight of our housekeeping staff and will follow up with them to ensure this does not happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wilmington in the future.

Have a great day,
Steve Janoski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay at this holiday inn. The staff was pleasant, the room was very clean and nicely updated. Best of all, it actually had an HD TV with HD channels (a rarity!). Also a plus for me: the entire hotel is smoke free!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UNCbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear UNCbiz,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us was! I'm glad you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms and found we fit your needs. By the end of the year our whole property will be remodeled so we would love for you to come back again to see us.

Have a great day,
Steve Janoski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My Wife and I recently spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - University Center in Wilmington, NC. Everyone we had contact with appeared to have one goal: "Treat everyone just as you would treat family" Very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ken B,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us. I am so happy our staff was able to make you feel like family when you were our guest. It is our goal to make each guest feel the way you did when visiting us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wilmington during your next visit.

Have a great day,
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at HIE University Center when he returned from Afghanistan in 2010. The people at the front desk were very helpful to me with getting the room set up, flowers, fruit, wine, etc! It was a very special home coming thanks to their help!

Since then we have had family stay at HIE when they visit us as well as business associates. We have always been happy with the room, staff and the awesome breakfast!

The location is great too with many restaurants to choose from, Walmart and Sams just blocks away, and convenient to Market St. to get to downtown Wilmington.

Being a military family we have traveled and lived all over. We really appreciate a nice hotel with friendly staff and comfy beds and sheets! Getting a free breakfast to start our morning seals the deal for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank michaela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Michaela S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your past stays have been. We are honored to have been your host hotel for your husband's homecoming and happy to hear we helped make it even more special than it already was.

Thank you for being a loyal guest and we look forward to hosting your family and business associates again in the future!

Best Regards,
Anna Mullens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was very clean, comfortable and convenient to everything. We really enjoyed our stay. The only negative was the fact that in our handicapped accessible room, the seat in the shower was not bolted in the wall very well and my husband nearly fell when he sat down. But, management was responsive. We will definitely stay again next time we're in Wilmington.

Room Tip: There were noisy children on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Director of Operations at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Linda S,

First of all thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know how your stay was. Secondly, please accept my sincerest apology about the handicap shower seat. I have personally been following up to ensure that it is taken care of and that no one else will have the experience that your husband had. Our maintenance staff has securely fastened the seat to the wall again and will be checking in periodically to make sure it stays that way.

Thank you for your understanding and kind compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back to Wilmington on you next visit.

Kevin A. Archer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#23 of 44 in Wilmington
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#28 of 44 in Wilmington
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located between Wrightsville Beach & Historic Wilmington. We offer great amenities, such as a newly resurfaced outdoor pool with brand new patio furniture, complimentary Wi-Fi access, hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, grits, biscuits, assorted fruits, assorted cereals, assorted drinks, along with yogurt and pancakes. We are the only hotel in Wilmington that has charcoal grills available. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers. Some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. We are close to the USS North Carolina Battleship & Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,400 sq ft of flexible meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing