We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel & it was wonderful. Staff was always helpful, including manager who was very hands on. He greeted us & remembered us each time we saw him. We were there to visit family so location was great.
There aren't enough positive adjectives to describe how pleased we were with our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgializ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear georgializ,

I'm so glad that you had a great 5 nights with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 294 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

Staff was all very cheerful and always helpful. Excellent maid service! Comfortable rooms in include refrigerator and microwave... Located within walking distance to a lot and short ride to UNC, downtown and Wrightsville Beach. Breakfast was great and hot foods changed daily. The cinnamon buns are super delicious. The fitness center was convenient and the pool chairs comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Ola Travels,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! I hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Wilmington.

Have a wonderful summer!
Anna Mullens

P.S. We think the Cinnamon Buns are super delicious too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Staff was very attentive, took great care of our group.

Better then most Holiday Inn Express properties I have used in past.

Nothing unusual to report, they took care of everything we needed very quicky.

Manager seemed to be there and very visable always working with his team.

Team that took care of breakfast was great and for a very full hotel, very impressive as most breakfast buffets don't do well with crowds during peek hours.

Many Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mLIZp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear mLIZp,

I'm so glad to see you and your group enjoyed their stay with us! We love our breakfast and our breakfast staff. I hope you were able to try one of our Cinnamon Buns or at least a pancake from our pancake machine. If not you will need to on your trip back next year!

Thanks for the great review!
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and welcoming upon our arrival. We had a king non-smoking room which was nice. Our only complaint was the bed was not that comfortable. I expected better as did my wife. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that in this review. It's location is central to UNCW, downtown, and the beach. There is a Walmart within walking distance and restaurants are all around. If you like Tai food definitely go to Indochine. It's only a few miles away and the food is awesome!

Room Tip: The road for the hotel is just as you come into Wilmington right off of I-40.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Yellowman15,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm glad you found our staff so welcoming and that you were able to try one of our favorite restaurants while you were visiting! It's definitely and experience to dine at Indochine!

We hope to see you back next year once we have completed our remodel!

Best regards,
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

For a holiday weekend, this location was quite busy. However, staff and management stepped up to the plate and delivered exceptional service. All staff were friendly and helpful! It was great to see Kevin Archer, General Manager, visible and accessible around the facility. He runs a tip top operation and we will be back for another stay! Thank you to all the staff of this facility, YOU make the difference!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Deborah W,

Thanks you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff. I'm happy to learn you enjoyed your holiday weekend with us and I hope you will stay with us again next time in Wilmington!

Have a wonderful summer!
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed over the July 4th Holiday weekend. We choose the Holiday Inn because the room rate was the lowest of all the hotels in the area.
The Hotel is conveniently located mid-way between downtown Wilmington and all the beaches.
Room was clean, modern and came with a micro-fridge, that had a freezer compartment!, and microwave oven.
We had two queen beds that were nice and firm. Bedding included a choice of firm or soft pillows.
A/C worked well, bathroom was spotless.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Decent food selection for complimentary breakfast. Food that was supposed to be hot was hot. The Orange Juice actually tasted like OJ not watered down Orange drink.
Pool area is well maintained. Plenty of chairs and tables with umbrellas.
There is a BBQ stand a a small picnic area on the hotel grounds.
The hotel was a real "find" and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you are assigned a room on the second floor ask for one on the opposite end of the elevator and i...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archerandchewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Archerandchewy,

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to write it, it is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share it with our entire staff. From the review it sounds like you were able to enjoy all aspects of our hotel, from our location to our picnic area, and that's what we love to hear!

We look forward to seeing you back in the future!
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed over the 4th July Holiday weekend to visity my son and I can honestly say I have never been more pleased with a hotel stay! The staff was super friendly, accomadating and the room was spacious, clean and quiet. The complimentary breakfast was right out of the top drawer! It was fresh, a large variety and what you would expect to pay top dollar for and all complimentary with your stay. I cannot say enough about he wonderful staff and the location was central to everything in Wilmington. I will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeasandCarrots0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmingtonNC1, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear PeasandCarrots0919,

Thank you for taking the time and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us over the holiday weekend! We are happy to hear you chose to spend it with us and I'm so glad we were able to make it a great weekend with your family.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again when you come visit your son in Wilmington!

Best regards,
Anna Mullens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
#24 of 45 in Wilmington
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#29 of 45 in Wilmington
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: $94 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located between Wrightsville Beach & Historic Wilmington. We offer great amenities, such as a newly resurfaced outdoor pool with brand new patio furniture, complimentary Wi-Fi access, hot breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon or sausage, grits, biscuits, assorted fruits, assorted cereals, assorted drinks, along with yogurt and pancakes. We are the only hotel in Wilmington that has charcoal grills available. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers. Some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. We are close to the USS North Carolina Battleship & Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,400 sq ft of flexible meeting space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing